Super Moist Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Yummy pumpkin bread! I don't usually use walnuts but I love it with shredded coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrettyPinkBows

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZviLitvinoff
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Delicious! I altered the recipe a bit to make it healthier and added a few extra spices based on other reviews. Replaced the coconut oil with unsweetened applesauce, same measurement. Omitted the white sugar completely. Added a teaspoon ground cloves and a half a teaspoon ground ginger (the ginger seems to be optional, the cloves are important). It comes out perfect and just the right amount of sweet! And I don't feel guilty for eating too much of it. My coworkers devoured it today so I had to come home and make some more. Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Got rave reviews from this recipe! Everyone loved it and continued to talk about it for awhile. Definitely lives up to it's name: super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieclaire0924

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miss Kris
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this gluten free by substituting Better Batter GF flour. It is a dense loaf. I halved the amount of regular sugar and used unsweetened coconut flakes. I used pecans instead of walnuts. It also only baked for 1 hour and 2 minutes. It turned out soooooo tasty! The nutmeg flavor was a tad strong for me so next time I will use a little less. I will definitely be adding this to my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
It was very good. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, and 2 cups of organic cane sugar instead of the recommended 2 and 2/3 combined. It was still plenty sweet. Oh, and I used 3tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the recommended spices. We like a lot of spice, and not too much sugar. Waiting on second batch now. :)smells so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I used 1/2 cup vegtable oil. Upped the white sugar to 1/2 cup. Also added a teaspoon of ginger. Very popular recipe with my co-workers:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This is a very good vegan pumpkin bread. I have had trouble converting my pumpkin-based baked goods to vegan recipes that will still please my husband, but these did the trick. They have an ultra-creamy texture reminiscent of coconut milk ice cream, and a nice fall flavor with no artificial ick aftertaste like so many vegan products. The changes I made: used half a cup of oil and increased pumpkin to three cups. Severely cut down sugar: half a cup of dark brown and about a third of a cup of white, but I did add bakers chocolate chunks instead of nuts. There is no need for all that oil or sugar! Doubled the spices and added a heaping tsp of powdered Ginger as well as 1/2 tsp ground cloves. Overall result very good, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mainemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I made a few substitutions - I did 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1.5 cups white flour INSTEAD of 3.5 cups of white flour. I used 1 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white, instead of the really high amounts the recipe calls for. I did 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1/2 cup applesauce instead of 1 cup of oil....ew. I didn't add coconut flakes I added 1/2 tablespoon of ginger and the tiniest pinch of clove... I made them as muffins, baked them at 350 for 30 minutes. They are PERFECT. They're moist, not too sweet but sweet enough, and with the walnuts, whole wheat, and half the sugar, I don't feel bad feeding them to people as breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I made some changes, because the amount of sugar and oil seemed way too high for my taste: I used 1/4 cup of oil instead of 1 (!) cup. I kept the 2 cups of brown sugar but omitted the white sugar. I also added nutmeg, cloves, a generous amount of cinnamon, and 1 tsp of real vanilla. I did not use the coconut flakes, because of the spices I wanted to use. Finally, I used the one tsp of baking soda but also 2 tsp of baking powder. I mixed the sugar with the liquid stuff and the pumpkin first until disolved. Then I combined the dry stuff aside and folded it in at the end. I put the batter in a cake pan and sprinkled it with 1/4 cup of vegan dark chocolate chips before baking it for 28 min. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I cut this recipe in half to ten servings. I had to make a couple substitutions only because I was limited in ingredients. I used pecans instead of walnuts, light brown sugar and instead of coconut milk, I used equal amounts regular milk with a teaspoon of coconut extract. I baked my muffins at 350 for exactly 20 minutes. Though they turned out moist and delicately spiced, these were a little too sweet. The coconut flavor with the pumpkin was different but in a good way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States