Super Lemon Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Loved this recipe however, I had wanted a lemon/ginger ice cream recipe. this is what I did! Near the end of the freezing time in my ice cream machine, I added crushed ginger snaps with minced candy ginger. It was sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I made this as directed with the additional steps adding in some limoncello (about a 1/3 cup) on top of 1/2 cup of lemon juice (reduce amount of juice and replace with limoncello) and using a chinois to strain out the zest prior to refrigerating the custard. Very smooth, very creamy. I am making a second double batch this weekend for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Wiley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This is exceptional and well worth the preparation time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is the second summer I've used this recipe and I can't get enough! I use a vegetable peeler to remove the zest and steep for more like 30 mins before adding the eggs. I refrigerate everything overnight, then strain the lemon zest before adding the juice and freezing. I also use a whole cup of fresh lemon juice. If you are a lemon fan, this is the best ice cream you'll ever taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Didn't change a thing! If you don't like it lemony, you can reduce the amount of lemon juice. Tastes like a lemon meringue pie filling but in ice cream form. Will try using it to make a lemon ice cream pie in graham cracker crust with sweetened whipped cream topping for a frozen dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Delicious. I love lemon ice cream and this hit the spot. I didn't strain out the zest, though most of it seemed to get caught on my ice cream churn paddle, so not much ended up in the ice cream I ate, but I didn't mind the bit that did at all. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MTCowgirl
Reviewed: May 2, 2014
This was quite possibly the best ice cream recipe I have ever tasted! It was the highlight of a month long experiment with lemon recipes! Check out my Lemon Crazy blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCowgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I had gotten an ice cream maker and lots of lemons around Christmas, and thought I would try this recipe even though I am more of a Chocolate person. I loved it and everyone including those who weren't into lemons loved this recipe. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I am a 100% lemon fan but I have to say this ice cream was just ok. I followed directions to the tee, and even strained the lemon zest like others suggested. It was good. I'm glad others enjoyed it but I will not be making it again. It did not taste like ice cream but reminded me of lemon sherbet type thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
WOW! I LOVE to make ice cream. I love to try all different flavors, mix-ins... This ice cream is DELICIOUS! I doubled the recipe. It came out perfect! So creamy and refreshing at the same time. I always share my ice creams. This one was a BIG HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States