Super Hot Cereal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2002
I love this recipe! Really you can put in any type of fruit and/or seasoning you want. I have a dehydrator so I dehydrated strawberries and put them in. My kids are too young to know the difference between this and the store bought stuff. Be forewarned, the texture of this oatmeal compared to store bought oatmeal is VERY different, heavier. But much cheaper and you control what goes in...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is perfect oatmeal in the mornings. I put the oatmeal mixture into the bowl and add some water then heat in the microwave until it's cooked and then I'll add some milk to get it to a thinner consistency and will heat that in the microwave. May add more milk to take away the stickiness. Extra brown sugar and bananas are added. Very nice. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This is a great way to make a hot breakfast very INEXPENSIVE, very HEALTHY and very EASY. I double the recipe and we only eat 1/2 cup serving each morning so it lasts for 2 weeks. I mix it in a 2 gallon freezer bag. I've added walnuts and/or almonds to give it more texture. **Update, I recently started adding 3 t. cinnamon and 1 c. wheat germ to the double batch. Much more flavor and sticks with you longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolina Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this! Way better than the packaged oatmeal. I like to mix Craisins in with the raisins. I also add a heaping T of my homemade pumpkin pie spice from this site. I even use the old fashioned oats. I leave a baggie full in the fridge at work & always have a healthy, warm, filling breakfast! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
This is a great mix! I hate the little envelopes of instant oatmeal because my son will eat at least 2 in one sitting and they are gone in a couple of days! With this mix you can pick the flavors you want and the portion you want for a lot less $$$. I skipped the raisins (my son's orders;) and added roasted/chopped pecans and 1/2 cup of wheat germ and about 1 tsp cinnamon. I found that adding 1cup water to 1cup oats and cooking it in the microwave for 2.30min made the results that I like (nice and thick and ready for me to add butter, milk, or maple syrup without having soup!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I love this. In addition to the raisins, I also added dried unsweetened cherries. MMMM... I think I might add some spice to it today though. If you find it rather bland, add some salt, a pinch at a time directly to your bowl. Remember, salt is a flavoring agent/enhancer. The salt will help it to not be bland. If you are on a low salt/no salt, then I don't know what to tell you. However you make it, enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Wonderful recipe! Who doesn't love something homemade? For some reason homemade just seems to taste better. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix and you could easily sub some craisins for the raisins and add nuts such as pecans or walnuts. Not only is this nice to have on hand, but for me this recipe is a definite keeper to place inside jars for "breakfast themed" baskets to give away at the holidays. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This recipe is made even better by adding a mixture of dried fruit and roasted nuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I used the recipe exactly with the exception of the raisins. I wanted to be able to make different varieties of oatmeal depending on my mood and didn't think it would greatly affect the main dish. I think this is a fantastic base and will definitely become a staple at our house. The only thing I want to mention is that you will need to add more brown sugar and water than specified. I couldn't taste any sweetness at all but I prefer that for my base. That way it can be changed for personal preference. The water amount was fine to start but after five minutes or so it was gummy and hard. My son likes to eat it in the car to school so we will have to put more water so it stays creamy. Add In Tips: Cinnamon, Sliced Almonds, Sugared Pecans, Dried Cranberries, Dried Apricots chopped, Sauteed Apple Pieces, Maple Syrup, Caramel Trail Mix...the list goes on and on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Good mixture but needs to be sweetened even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free Hot Breakfast Cereal

A delicious and healthy hot cereal with 8 gluten-free whole grains and seeds.

Hot Italian Giardiniera

A tangy, spicy pickled-pepper condiment for sausages and beef sandwiches.

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States