Super Hot and Sour Shrimp Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Yum! my mom makes this all the time on cold days! I love the spicy/sour combination. Reallt works if you have a cold! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bsour001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I am going to rate this a 5 because my family LOVED it. I was looking for a totally different hot and sour soup, so it didn't satisfy me. It was not hot at all, even in the least bit. it was alright, I wasn't expecting it to taste so shrimpy though. I do recommend you try it though, since my family absolutely raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
of course i added my own little twist! home-made fish/shrimp stock! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This soup was super hot and sour just as it claimed and I wouldn't change a thing except for maybe using some bean sprouts for garnish next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by marljong
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Absolutely Loved IT! It's superb, but a milder and easier version of the Thai soup~Tom Yum Goong. I added red curry paste and tamarind sauce; tripled the mushrooms~oyster and button. Finish off with bean sprouts. Definitely a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Okay, I very rarely review recipes, but I had to on this one. My non-english speaking Vietnamese girlfriends mom gave me a thumbs up for this dish. I did of course make changes: Used 8 cups of shrimp stock(4 shrimp boullion cubes in 8 cups of water), 3-10 oz cans of straw mushrooms drained, 1-8 oz can of sliced Bamboo Shoots drained, 1 brick of firm Tofu sliced into 3/4 inch cubes, 3 Roma tomatoes seeded and chopped into 1 inch pieces, Fish sauce to taste about 6 Tbls, 1 Tbls White pepper and 2 pounds of frozen Cocktail Shrimp . Served with Lime wedges, Cilantro, blanched Bean Sprouts, Hot Chili oil, Pho noodles and Rice prestaged on the dinner table so individuals could adjust hot and sour to their own taste, and choose to eat plain or with noodles or rice. Hope this helps. Stu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Just what I needed to use up some limes. Easy preparation, quick and delicious meal. I used large shrimp--made the shrimp broth with the shells, then proceeded with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cazuela
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
OMG!!! Anytime I make shrimp, either grilled, bbq, or just boiled, I take the shells and cook down a stock with a small amount of water with the leftover shells. I had 8 cups sitting in my freezer and made this...to die for! After doubling the recipe, I added a large can of bean sprouts, some yellow miso paste, rice noodles and sriracha for spice since I didn't have red chile peppers. This is a great recipe. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My BF and I made this this weekend. He wanted a soup that reminded him of one he used to get from a Thai woman at a restaurant when he wasn't feeling good. We made a stock with the shrimp shells (used big, rather than salad sized, which we think was the right choice...at least for us) and added some clam juice and fish stock concentrate to the liquid. In the soup he wanted lemon grass like he was used to in the one from the restaurant. We used the canned mushrooms and also added some fresh shitake. We used a whole tube of Gourmet Garden's finely chopped red chilies because we couldn't find fresh. We like things HOT. This was nowhere near hot enough for us so we kept adding until it reached our desired heat level. We also doubled the cilantro because we love that flavor as well. Many of these ingredients are very salty. I was worried that our stock was not salty enough and a bit too bland, but when everything was added it was PLENTY salty, so I suggest not adding extra salt until the end. We loved this and he said it was just like the one from the restaurant. We had a blast making this together. I would have rated this a four but my BF was so happy with it that it gets a five:) Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This soup was very easy and turned out great. I used bigger shrimp that I cooked in the broth, and I served it with thin rice noodles. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Egg Drop Soup (Better than Restaurant Quality)

See how to make restaurant-quality egg drop soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States