Super Grouper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
Made with 1.25 lbs fish, based on reviews: doubled seasoning using Old Bay instead of paprika, halved butter (LOVE butter and still only used half). Bake 350 for 10, then broil for 2.5 each side. The eaters will melt- so nummy. Primo recipe- takes 20 min, tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Superb fish dish. Texture and flavor is out of this world. Half as much butter is just fine as there was lots left over. Use this base recipe for all fresh, flaky fish. I may try a bit of sweet white wine for bull nose dolfin. Be sure to turn when broiling as the browning gives a nice texture and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
The recipe title says it all! This was indeed, super! The only changes I made were to substitute garlic powder for the garlic salt, and I added a bit of dill, and a bit of salt-free lemon pepper to the spice mix. I added some fresh squeezed lime juice (from a quarter of a leftover lime) in with the lemon juice/butter. I baked the grouper for 10 minutes @350, then broiled for about 5 minutes to finish it off nicely. My fillets were thick. I loved the mayo/paprika topping too, and added some fresh chopped parsley over the fish. My room mate loved this dish too. Thank you Shirley, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElvisInFlorida

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dudley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This was just "okay" for us. It didn't really have alot of flavor and there was WAY too much butter! I baked it at 350 degrees for 10 minutes and then broiled it for 7 minutes (my fillets were very thick). I may try this again sometime, but I would definitely use less butter and more (or different?) seasonings next time. Oh yeah, and I'm STILL trying to clean the mess out of my oven from all the splattered butter... LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
This is the first time we made Grouper at home. This was fast,easy & very good. The cooking directions are confusing, oven temp-350 then broil? I baked for 5 min flipped baked 5 topped with maoy & broiled 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
As someone else mentioned, this recipe is very buttery. Next time I will use about 1/8 of the listed amount. Otherwise I think it would have had a really good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
This is so awesome! A no-fail recipe that wows even non fish eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaFraz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
I am not a fan of seafood. Im just beginning to try Salmon. My husbund braught this home from a deep sea fishing trip and we used this recipe. I loved it!!! I asked him the next day to cook it again. I reccomend this to everyone! It was so good! melts in your mouth and I had no idea it was fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I have been trying to build my repertoire of fish recipes, so after reading the first 10 reviews on this one, I decided to try it. Like most reviewers, I halved the butter (I only had 3 grouper filets). I substituted Old Bay for Paprika in the seasoning blend. The directions didn't mention broiling (although you prepared it in a broiler pan), so after baking for 10 minutes, I spread with mayo & sprinkled with paprika, then broiled for 2-3 minutes to lightly "crisp." a VERY GOOD recipe! (Glad I found it!) Thanks, Shirley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
You may also use this recipe for Kingklip it's a less expensive fish in the south available during summer months.It's also easily cut in half for two adults portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States