Super-Good Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
Great idea! I make oatmeal for my toddler almost every morning and this is a great way to up the nutritional value. I make hers with heavy cream (because she's a very skinny baby) and then after it's cooked, use apple sauce for flavor and to get a creamier consistency. I also stir in some cinnamon and use ground flax seed rather then flax oil. It smells like apple pie and it's one of the few things she consistently gobbles up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccrock

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I am always trying to eat more oatmeal because of the health benefits. This recipe makes me want to eat it in the morning! I always add a dash of cinnamon for my liking. MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I modified this recipe and made it low-calorie and filling. I cook the oatmeal as directed, omit the honey and use one packet of artificial sweetener, omit the oil (because I don't have any) and add a nice dash of cinnamon. Sometimes I will add a few slivered almonds, raisins, chopped apples, etc... the possibilities for this recipe are endless! I eat it all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
Remember to use a really huge bowl for this recipe.. I found that my oatmeal bubbled up and boiled over the sides of the bowl, and I had to clean it up. I used 1 tbsp of brown sugar instead of honey, and thought it needed 2x the sugar... also replaced flaxseed oil with margarine, and used less milk. Added a little cinnamon and vanilla for some more flavor. Definitely needs lots and lots of flavoring ingredients added in! I thought this recipe was extremely filling... next time, half a portion would be enough for me! UPDATE: I now cook 1/3 cup of oats and 2/3 cup of milk in the microwave (water is too bland), and add 1 tsp margarine, 1 tbsp brown sugar, and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon in. Canned peaches and pears are nice additions too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
This was good. I used ground organic flaxseed sprinkled on top after cooking the oatmeal, and organic agave in place of the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was great! A little bit mushier in texture than I prefer, so I cooked it on medium for three minutes. I topped with berries and skipped the flax oil because I had none. The wheat germ added a nice thickening quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Quick and easy, great on cold mornings! I throw in apple chunks before I microwave it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Mmmmm! Quick! Tasty! Healthy! It's great just how it's described and lends itself to all kinds of variations. Fabulous Recipe, and I'm not even a big breakfast eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I actually find this too filling, so use 1/3 cup oatmeal and 3/4 cup water. As others suggested, I substituted ground flax seed for the oil. I also left out the honey. I didn't have soy milk, so added some cottage cheese and about 1/4 cup berries. I have had this for 5 days in a row and think I could and will eat it every day for breakfast. EDIT: I first reviewed this 10 months ago and I am still eatin it at least 4-5X a week. It is healthy and fills me up so I'm never snack through the mornings. UPDATE: It's been 2 years and I still eat this at least 4-5X a week, with a big spoon of cinnamon mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This is a good base recipe, but I have had to make some changes to suit my personal tastes. My biggest problem is the flaxseed oil... it does not combine well and looks oily. Not very appetizing. So I used ground flaxseed. I also use skim milk instead of soy, since I don't like soy. Otherwise, this is certainly a good way to make oatmeal even healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKALANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States