Super-Good Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Delicious! The soy milk and honey really added to the flavor. Paired this with a homemade smoothie - what a good start to the day. I also really wanted to comment on one of the popular reviews, which advises users to NOT microwave oatmeal. There is VERY LITTLE scientific evidence that suggests this to be true. Nutrient loss in nearly any food occurs when heated - heat denatures proteins and breaks down enzymes. The significant loss of nutrients in cooking usually occurs when cooking foods in water (e.g., boiling vegetables) because the nutrients seep into the water, which is then discarded. With this recipe, all of the water is absorbed; none discarded. At least, this is what I've learned from university nutrition & evaluating scientific studies. Sorry to rant, it just bothers me when I see these types of claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I use much less water, just barely covering the oatmeal in the bottom of my large coffee mug I use to microwave it. And only MW for 1 1/2 minutes. I don't like it gluey and this works. Like to add craisins, flax meal, cinnamon, soy or skim milk after cooking the oats. Recently bought raw hemp seed (high in protein) and it's good in there too. Talk about a breakfast that stays with you all morning: this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I don't recommend the microwave either, oatmeal cooks in about 5 minutes on the stovetop and turns out tasting so much better. Oatmeal in the microwave turns out gummy and tastes like glue. It tasted good on the stove, had a nice nutty taste. We added craisins (kids love them) and they ate it up! Even filled up my always hungry 4 year old, she didn't quite finish her bowl before declaring herself full. It was almost 2 hours before she asked for a snack. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew's Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Excellent base recipe, to me oatmeal is always better with milk instead of water. Honey is great but if you prefer maple syrup is also delicious. So many ways to change it up, so many different things to add in. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I cooked the oatmeal on the stove, added honey, flax meal, sliced almonds, almond milk, cinnamon, and nutmeg. For the first time I really enjoyed eating oatmeal for breakfast. Thank you for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkulinku

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Great for recipe while breastfeeding. Oatmeal is good for lactation. I did not have wheat germ so I omitted, but will next time. I used seeds instead of oil.This is my first time using soy milk since I cannot use regular milk while breastfeeding. I was a little scared of the taste because of the soy milk and this recipe not using sugar. I was surprised that the honey did the job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This was very bland. I tried adding cinnamon and nutmeg, but it didn't seem to help. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Great recipe but I use steel cut oats which are much better for you. I cook 1 cup oats to 4 cups water, once a week. Each day I take out the amount I want, zap it and add all the goodies. It's the best - ask Oprah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
I eat this almost every morning. I use 1/3 c. oatmeal and about 3/4 c water because instead of flaxseed oil, I add about 2T ground flaxseed meal and sometimes throw in some cinnamon and raisins. I always cook it in the microwave for 6 min. at 50% power. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Be sure to watch your oatmeal in the microwave. My bowl overflowed after only two minutes! What a sticky mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States