Super-Good Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This makes a lot of oatmeal. Next time I will not use 1/4 cup of skim milk (it made it runny). And will just add enough milk to my liking. You can add maple syrup or whatever flavor you are after that day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
substituted flaxseed oil with ground flaxseed. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This was pretty good. I didn't have flaxseed oil, I used a tablespoon of ground flax seed and just added an extra tbsp. of liquid. I used organic apple cider instead of plain water, I stirred in a half teaspoon of homemade apple pie spice and I stirred in 1 tbsp. organic honey before eating. I don't drink soy milk so I used nonfat milk. This was quite a filling breakfast. The great thing about oatmeal for breakfast is it can be different every time so play around and use whichever liquid/stir in's that sound best for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Great recipe - I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, and a dash of vanilla extract. Instead of topping it with soy milk, I topped it with a huge spoonful of fat free honey flavored organic greek yogurt. This was very filling and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Super good is right!!! I eat this everyday & feel so full all morning. The recipe is so versitale! I cook the oatmeal & water along with freshly diced apples or bananas. Then add my milk brown sugar & nuts. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Strangely addictive. I did not think I would like it that much and perhaps have to force myself to eat it at least once a week. WRONG. I eat this stuff nearly everyday and sometimes twice a day - especially before a long workout. Something about the thick warm oatmeal with all those other good things is just comforting... strange I know. All in all, good stuff and a new staple in my diet. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Good oatmeal that you can add/subtract ingredients to your liking. Quick, healthy breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
After 5 years of making fun of my husband for making and eating oatmeal EVERY day on the week, I have been enlightened! This is amazing! I can hardly believe that something so good for you can be this filling and taste so good. I followed the directions as written, added half a teaspoon of splenda brown sugar (Only 10 calories) and some organic raisins. I also use vanilla soy milk. The result is a decadent, almost desert like breakfast that keep me going all morning. I use ground flex instead of the oil, but I find the wheat germ and flax has done wonders for my energy. This is a great recipe and I am SO grateful to have found it. I am on the oatmeal bandwagon now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Delicious, healthy and very easy to make it! I didn't have flax oil, so I used 1/2 Tbsp of flax seed instead. I also used splenda instead of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made this recipe this morning for my 2 pre-schoolers. I was looking for a substitute for the pre-packaged oatmeal. I used vanilla soy milk and added some animal shaped cake candies so that my girls would still think it was their "dinosaur oatmeal". We all loved it and I feel better about removing one more proccesed food from our house. Thanks for the great and fast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States