Super Filling Cannellini Bean and Escarole Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Yummy! My husband and 4 of my 6 kids gobbled this up! I doubled the recipe, but we had so many leftovers I probably wouldn't have needed to. It really is filling. I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned and one romaine heart instead of escarole because I don't know what that is. I'm not a fan of cooked lettuces, so I probably won't do that next time and I'll add more onion and garlic. 4 stars because it's a little bland before you add seasoning. It was good and a nice break from Italian, Mexican and Chinese which we do frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIDSUMMERMOM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Used radicchio. Pretty good with that substitution and I like that it has such healthy ingredients. I rinsed and drained the beans, so there was not enough liquid and I had to keep adding water. Next time I would keep some of the tomato juice. Needed salt and pepper, and I'll try chicken sausage next time, too, for a little more flavor. Like this one, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was good but could use a few tweaks to make it better. I'll add more seasoning next time and maybe some red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kd328
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Super delish! My whole family loved this! I made a couple of changes like using navy beans, green onions, & I nixed the cheese to cut a bit of the fat. I also didn't have a lot of time to cut & prepare chicken breasts, so I used a bag of Oscar Mayer turkey bacon bits. I just threw them in at the end with the escarole. I served it over plain cous cous. It was scrumptious & did not need any additional seasonings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This recipe caught my eye because of the ease of preparation and the use of whole, healthful ingredients. I was shopping for the ingredients when I noticed that fully cooked, flavored chicken sausages are packaged in the 12 oz. portion called for in the recipe. I'm glad I made the substitution, as I believe the final product would have been slightly bland with just chicken, even after seasoning with salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Pretty good. I substituted chickpeas for the cannelini, and swiss chard for the escarole, because its what I had on hand. I would definitely add some spice of some sort next time! Served it with rice. Healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
My entire family ate this meal and it was super easy. I didn't have frozen spinach, or canned tomatoes...so I diced up one whole tomato and sauteed some mushrooms with the chicken. That's the only difference and it was delicious!! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sroses
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
My grocery store does not carry Escarole. I spoke to the produce manager and he suggested romaine lettuce. So I added it at the end right before I melted the cheese on top. It was de-lish. The romaine gave it a nice crisp texture. Don't forget to add salt and pepper. it really needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sroses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This is terrific and wonderfully filling. Substituted diced tomatoes w/chilis in tomato juice (added a nice kick), rinsed beans and discarded liquid to reduce amount of salt, plus added 1 tablespoon fresh minced rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Very good and definitely filling! I didn't have Cannellini beans so I used a can of chickpeas. Delicious, although can use some salt and pepper...Served on couscous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States