Super Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
Had to change the recipe slightly as I didn't have all the ingredients on hand. I used cream of chicken soup (w/out herbs), an onion soup mix, fresh mushrooms and white zin. I also used frozen chicken breasts that I cut up since I was in a hurry and cooked over medium-low heat for about 2 hours. My husband loved it!!! Haven't heard him rave like this in quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This turned out so well! I didn't have any wine so I omitted that, used cream of mushroom soup instead of the mushrooms, added a minced clove of garlic and some fresh rosemary and it turned out very well--so tender! Its a new family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I thought this was very good and very easy. A good combination in my book! I followed the suggestions of a few others and added an envelope of Lipton Onion Soup Mix instead of the chopped purple onion. Also, I didn't have the cream of chicken and herb on hand so I tried Cream of Chicken Dijon soup instead. It had a great flavor! Most of all, I just couldn't believe that was all there was to it. Throw it all in the crock pot and a few hours later we had a nice dinner. I served it over rice one night, had a few leftovers that I served over small shell pasta for lunch later. Both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I changed nearly everything about this recipe. I used 2 cans of soup, 1 cream of chicken and mushroom and 1 98% fat free cream of chicken. I used pearl onions instead and fresh mushrooms and omitted the wine. I read other reviews about concerns over bland chicken, to fix that I browned my seasoned frozen chicken breasts over high heat and then added them to cook in the crock pot, it worked perfectly and I think it wouldn't have been as good without doing that. Served it over egg noodles with French bread. It was really yummy and a great concept. Thanks! ***UPDATE*** I finally managed to remember white wine at the store and it makes quite a bit of difference in the flavor. It's a pretty heavy sauce and the addition of the white wine gives it an almost crisp feeling in my mouth. It's a subtle difference and I noticed but my hubby didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
No question --this is super easy and as a mom of 2 small kids--I will certainly make again. I followed the recipe exactly minus the marsala wine and it was delicious--and I did sprinkle the chicken with a little garlic. I thought the chicken was very moist and the sauce was great--I spooned it over my green beans. Also--very healthy--only 5 weight watcher points for a filling serving!!!!! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Super easy is right. I used whole chicken breast instead of strips and fresh mushrooms instead. It turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Like the other reviewers I added onion soup mix but also left in a few white onions. I used a few dashes of generic white wine and also added about 3/4 can of milk while cooking to give it a little richer taste. Left out the mushrooms because I didn't have any. When the chicken (boneless skinless chicken thighs because they are cheaper) was done cooking (I left it in for about 6 hours alternating high and low on the cooker), I took it out and placed it in a dish, and then added a little flour to the pot, making a really nice gravy. Served over wide egg noodles... and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This was really yummy and very easy. However, I changed the recipe as follows: I used purple and yellow onions, fresh mushrooms as well as canned, a crushed clove of fresh garlic, since I couldn't find cream of chicken with herbs, I used cream of chicken and mushroom and added fresh thyme, parsley and a pinch of dried rosemary. I also added a second can of golden mushroom just for more sauce. I added a Tbsp of Marsala. Served with egg noodles and peppered asparagus. My house was happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
With my daughter home with mono, I've cooked and reviewed more recipes in one month than I have in a year! This is a great and easy recipe which I also added a package of onion soup mix. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My husband and son are quite the food snobs and usually have something to say about any food I fix but all I heard from them was moaning and lip smacking. When they were done I was ordered to make this again. I have to admit that I didnt follow recipe to a "T". Had to use what I had on hand. I put chicken in a bag and added garlic powder, dried thyme and EVOO. Mixed until well coated. In a fry pan I heated EVOO and then did a quick brown on the chicken. Removed chicken and put in lined crock pot. I put a sliced sweet onion and fresh mushrooms in the same hot fry pan and deglazed the pan with wine. I added cream of celery and chicken and rice soups to the mushroom mixture. (It was all I had) Simmered for short time to mix well. I poured mixture over chicken in crock pot. It cooked on low for aprox. 2 hours and I served it over rice with a side salad. I could tell you how good it was but the empty crock pot does all the talking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Thomas Hand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States