Super Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was REALLY good. I forgot to defrost something for dinner and all I had were chicken legs and thighs. I literally threw them in the slow cooker completely frozen and added the remaining ingredients plus whole garlic and cooked it on high for about 6 hours. The result was fantastic! The chicken fell off the bone and was so moist. The sauce made an excellent gravy that we used over mashed potatoes. My husband and our 4 year old loved it! Will definitely and make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was delicious! I would have been better off just following the recipe on this one though, I think! I didn't have the right wine or soup on hand, so I used white zin (I know, I know) and cream of mushroom soup. Instead of canned mushrooms, I used a fresh, coarsely chopped portabello cap (Bonus points!) & threw in about a tsp of minced garlic. You really don't need to add more than a splash or 2 of wine; also not a good plan to thin out the soup with more liquid than is called for, especially considering the relatively short cooking time. (this was my first mistake, and the dish took about 4 hours instead of 3. The chicken juices thin it out plenty as it cooks.) Before adding the chicken, I dredged it in a mixture of salt, pepper, parsley, sage, thyme, rosemary, garlic powder, & paprika. This added a lot of good flavor, especially since i didn't use the chicken & herb soup; BUT the sauce turned out very salty; next time I will omit or greatly reduce the salt I put on the chicken. Even still, it was amazing. All of us--me, my husband, my 2 1/2 year old son, and his little friend--all loved it! We will definitely enjoy this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juliemay7

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
This was an okay dish. I was surprised that it was rated so highly. I followed the suggestions (soup mix) it was so salty that I had to add more wine (chardonnay, water and milk. It was still quite salty. I thought the chicken was bland too. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Super easy and tasty. I used cream of mushroom, white onions, fresh mushrooms and chardonnay because that's what I had on hand. I also added some diced scallions. I'll definitely make this one again, it's too easy not to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laton, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
My husband and I loved this. Used cream of Mushroom soup and white onion. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
We did not care for this recipe. it tasted like chicken in boiled water it was so nasty my husband put his back and we ordered pizza. i wouldn't reccomend this to any one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
I don't have a timer on my crock pot but I don on my oven so I cooked this in my oven at 250 for 4 hours. Came out excellent. I forgot the Marsala wine though so next time I will try to remember, but it was great even without it. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this last night, and while it was very easy, I thought it was only so-so. There is something missing. I couldn't find the the cream of chicken with herbs soup at the store, so I used cream of mushroom and a Tbsp of Italian herb seasoning. I also added a couple cloves of minced garlic and a 1/4 tsp ground black pepper. I served it over pasta. I can't quite put my finger on what's missing. Maybe salt? That could be why the people who put Lipton onion soup mix did like the dish. That soup mix is really high in salt. I don't think I will make this again. UPDATE: Yep, it was missing salt. I heated the leftovers and added some salt and it vastly improved the taste. A lot of reviewers said that they added Lipton onion soup mix, which made it too salty. So I recommend fixing the recipe as is, but adding salt and pepper to taste. My suggestion is 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Used dry onion soup mix instead of red onion. Quick, easy and economical dinner. Not fabulous, but tasty. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sister Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
As is: pretty bland. After reading reviews I browned the chicken in garlic, cayanne, crushed red pepper and rosemary. In the crockpot I added I used 2 cans of soup: Cream of Celery & Cream of Chicken. 3/4 can of milk. 3 cloves diced garlic, parsley, 1/2 onion, rosemary & chicken. Cooked for 3 hours. Last 20 mins I added 2 cups of whole wheat pasta to the crock pot. This way it was a solid 4 for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States