Super Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This was liked by both the kids and adults. We had about 2 1/2 lbs vs. the 1 1/2 so I added a can of cream of celery soup and, following other suggestions, used the onion soup mix instead of the onion. I don't like using the "low" setting on the crock pot for chicken, so I cooked on high for about 3 hours. The chicken was moist and flavorful. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
The flavor was good but the chicken was dry. Next time I will reduce the cooking time or not cut the chicken into strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
My daughter and I absolutely loved this dish (which I made with fresh mushrooms instead of canned), however my husband disliked it so much that he made himself a sandwich. I guess it's not for everyone. I'll have to make it again on a night when doh won't be home for dinner. Super easy and tasty. I served it over egg noodles with a side of brocolli. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made this last night for dinner and was extremely disappointed. It made the whole place smell wonderful so I couldn't wait to eat dinner. I did make some changes to it (after doing everything exactly as the recipe called for), I added a packet of onion soup like many suggested but then I also added some garlic, thyme, rosemary, poultry seasoning, oregano and a dash of celery salt. After I took the chicken out I added just a touch of flour to try and thicken the gravy and I then served it over jasmine rice. The whole dish just wasn't as flavorful as I would have liked at all and my boyfriend and I were quite disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is one of those recipes that my husband looks at me like I am crazy while I am throwing it all together, then while he is eating all he can say is "MMMM! This is awesome!" I use my crock pot alot, and this is one of the easiest, best dishes that I have done in a while-it always amazes me how just 4 ingredients thrown in a pot can make such a yummy dinner! I did make a few changes, as usual. I used 2 cans of soup because when I put the cream of chicken& herbs it just didn't look like alot, so I also threw in a cream of chicken & mushroom as well; but to be honest you would probably be fine with just the one can. I would have also seasoned and browned the chicken breasts first but I was pressed for time to get it in the crock pot, but next time I will definately do that. I used bone in chicken breasts,white onion and fresh sliced baby portabella mushrooms;and I also threw in some garlic and additional herbs. My 3 year old is a huge mushroom fan (the kid won't eat a piece of pizza without mushrooms!), so she loved this but everyone else did too! I am always looking for recipes that I can add to my slow cooker meal rotation and this is definately a keeper!!Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Yummy! Mine came out a bit dry, but that was probably because I decided to break in my new 6.5 quart crock pot using only 4 chicken breasts. I think that had I used my smaller one the chicken would have been covered by the sauce, making it moist. But the flavor was excellent, my husband really loved it. I served it with brown rice and mixed veggies, and the sauce was amazing on the rice. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GriffsMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
The first time I made this recipe I did it as listed. As others said, it was a little bland and lacked the kick my family normally likes. The second time around, I marinated, seasoned and seared my chicken first, then added some potatoes and carrots to the mix. Because of the added ingredients and my desire for more sauce, I used 2 cans of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Finally, I added some chicken stock, and halfway through cooking I added some more of my favorite seasonings to the mix. This came out SUPERB, and is going to be a staple for cold, busy days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Culpeper, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clinton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I used fresh mushrooms and regular onion. I had to skip the marsala but it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
All I can say is YUMMY and thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I changed a few things to this recipe and it turned out delicious! As another reviewer suggested, I dredged the chicken in herbs/spices (paprika, fines herbs, thyme, Lawry's seasoned salt, garlic powder, black pepper and a little flour) then browned it in a skillet. Transfered that to the crock pot, then sauteed chopped onion, garlic and mushrooms in a little butter, added port wine and let it simmer for a bit to burn off the alcohol. Added that to the crock pot, along with low sodium cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 a chicken boullion cube. Cooked on low for about 6 hours. Served over rice. Had great flavor and nice brown color due to the browning of the chicken. Also, the longer cooking time made it super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States