Super Easy Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2004
My husband and I both felt that this was not as flavorful as Sloppy Joe's we are accustomed to. Perhaps using a little less beef or a little more sauce would help to intensify the flavor. Also, the onion and celery should be sauteed with the ground beef in the grease that accumulates before it is drained off. The onion and celery do not become tender in 3 minutes of cooking it with the dry beef. Decent flavor, but would be better if flavor was more intense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Taking the other reviewer's comment, I doubled the amount of chili sauce, vinegar, and sugar. Very easy and good. My husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I am giving this recipe five stars. Earlier reviewer didn't find it flavorful enough, but we loved the flavor -- it seemed sufficiently intense for us (we did use the "optional" mustard, which may have made a difference..) Yum! Thanks, NICNEC...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
THIS WAS PRETTY DARN GOOD..I FOUND THAT I DID HAVE TO ADD A LITTLE EXTRA CHILI SAUCE THO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This recipe is not only quick, but great. The best sloppy joe I have had. I did not use celery, but substituted a few dashes of celery salt. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This recipe satisfies a taste for sloppy joes. I prefer chili to sloppy joes so I added some chili powder and hot sauce to give it some zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rpstroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paoli, Indiana, USA
Living In: Corydon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
Just okay. It needed some kind of a kick. A little too plain for our taste but not the worst that I have ever had. Probably would not make again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I converted this recipe for a crock pot. After I browned the beef, I just added everything (I left out the brown sugar) to the pot and let it go on low. Turned out great. Modifications: I added some hot sauce and I might have added some jalipeno pepper (if I had any) -- It needs a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
Easy, and yummy~~loved by whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Pretty good - a little sweet for my taste, but easily fixed by omitting the sugar. I added a bit more chili sauce, and added celery salt since I didn't have celery. I also added some green tabasco sauce - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States