Super Easy Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This tasted great and was so quick to make! I didn't have celery (husband doesn't like it anyway) so I put some celery salt on the meat as it cooked, and added celery seed to the mix. I LOVE the sweetness! I did add a bit of red pepper flakes to taste. The sauce I used was garlic chili sauce and it made it so tasty! I think I did add a bit more than called for (I'd halved the recipe). I made this the day before while cooking chili on the stove at the same time (love to make two meals at one shot) and since it sat overnight, it tasted even better than when I tested it after cooking! Thank you for a great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
Definitely the best Sloppy Joes we've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Silverhill, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
this was fast and easy . was a big hit at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Simple & absolutely easy recipe to follow and tastes good! My boyfriend hates celery so I substituted it by using yellow bell pepper and dicing it up to little pieces. The other reviewers were right in saying it's too sweet! I cut the sugar by half and it was still too sweet! It may have something to do with different brands of chilli sauce but I suggest a tablespoon (for serving of 6) is enough. Because during taste test while cooking, the sweetness will not come out till e after the flavours mix which can take up to an hour or two after the sauce is cooked. Would definitely make this again but I would suggest substituting about 20% of the chilli sauce with ketchup! And the tobasco sauce was a great idea! Thanks for the recipe still! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I made this with ground turkey. Everyone thought it was too sweet, and didn't really care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I followed the recipe as instructed, except I omitted the celery & mustard, doubled the chili sauce, and to bring out the flavor I added a pinch of crushed pepper and TADA! This really went well with my dinner party and I will definitely make these again - Thanks NICNEC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I didn't really like this one. It was very sweet and I didn't like the celery in it. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Whitman, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This was very good. I only had 2 1/2 lbs. of gr. beef & I did add a small can of tomato sauce and a generous dash of Paula Deen's House Seasoning. That fixes anything! It was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I didn't use the celery or mustard and it was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brimfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This recipe was just ok for me. I thought it was way too sweet. I won't make it again. I was disappointed because I love sloppy joe's. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States