Super Easy Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
These were ridiculously quick and easy. I have always been satisfied with manwich, but decided to try whipping up my own sloppy joes. This recipe appealed as I always have chili sauce sitting around going unused. Super economical and couldn't be faster, the taste was a little sweeter than I am used to and so I added a couple of ingredients to add a little heat, chili powder and hot sauce. I liked that there were no peppers, and these hit the spots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very Good and easy! Will make this again! Didn't have any celery so made it without and still good. Can't believe someone said it didn't have flavor. Followed as directed and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This makes a huge amount! I will make it with only 2 pounds of meat next time so there is more sauce - however, it is really good and we will be eating it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Pretty darn good. I did use only 2lbs. of meat and then doubled up on the chilli sauce . The onion and celery was a good addition. I saw in other posts where the writer felt the joes were to "dry".....just add more chilli sauce and that will take care of the problem. Nor Did I think it was too sweet{ maybe because of the extra CS?}.This will be my sloppy joe recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hickory Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I found this recipe searching for sloppy Joe with chili sauce. I think it’s key to any proper Joe, but unused in so many Joe recipes. This is easy, as the name implies. Few ingredients too. Sweet is fine and I expect some in my personal Joe preference. Sorry to say, that’s where my kudos end though. First of all, 3 lbs. of ground beef for 6 servings? Wow! I like to eat heartily, but still, I made this recipe with only 1 lb. and got respectable helpings on 6 open face bun halves. (I left out the celery too, had none.)This 1lb. could also translate into, at least, 3 very, very generous closed bun Joes (probably a little too much for children’s portions.) It would also be 6 reasonably portioned closed Joes when served with sides. If you can stand a little more math, this 3lb. recipe should yield at least 9 super-sized to, perhaps, 18 sensibly served sloppy joe sandwiches, on normal sized hamburger buns. Also I used over ½ a bottle of chili sauce for my 1lb. I used the appropriate scaled amount of vinegar with 1 Tbsp. of Worcestershire sauce. What little sauce there was, seemed watery. The chili sauce added flavor and colored the watery sauce, but disappeared into the meat, instead of making a thick, sloppy sauce. It needs tomato sauce or ketchup or something. Note; more, and thicker, sauce would also add further volume to the portions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were great! My 2-year-old LOVED them and even asked for seconds! MUCH better than the canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
Delicious and easy! Even better than the kind in a can. I will make this often, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyMunchkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Essex, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G Pendleton
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
This is a great recipe. I didn't add the celery but added everything else and it was a hit.My husband loves sloppy joes but couldn't eat the canned stuff, he is happy I found this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Pendleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
We LOVe these joes. I no longer buy the seasoning pkt kind & I'm sure to stay stocked up on bottled chili sauce as I have all the other ingredients on hand already. We put shredded cheddar on top of them before topping w/ the bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Covenant Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duke, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Yummy...happens to be really easy and good!! Use this all the time although mine dont like onions. Just leave them out tried this all different ways all in. some of this or that....Main thing is the chili and vinegar and brown sugar...other then that its all up to you green peppers are good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clio, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States