Super Easy Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Having lived overseas, I noticed something that might trip up most Americans with this recipe; 'lemonade' is known as Sprite or 7up in the states (or anything similar). The carbon dioxide helps the scones to raise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Snip
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
I actually quite liked these scones. I followed the recipe to the letter. The dough was quite soft and sticky, but using the extra flour for dusting solved the problem. The final scones were large, suitably fluffy and delicious served hot with strawberries and fresh cream. They were not very sweet at all - the sugar in the lemonade was just enough for them to not taste savoury... But that is the way British scones are meant to taste. A lot of the flavour is meant to come from the filling you add, rather than the actual scone being sweet. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I'm not surprised that people had problems with this recipe. I'm an Aussie, and I can tell you that you need 4 cups of Self Raising flour to 1 cup each of cream and lemonade. A pinch of salt helps bring out the flavour, also make the scones smaller so they cook through properly. Then the recipe will earn more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This recipe should read 3 C SELF RAISING FLOUR. If you use this and have some flour to add if the recipe is too sticky. Then it is quick and works. light fluffy. All the flops are because there was no baking powder in the recipe. Trust me I use the recipe with self raising and get asked for the recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
yep these are great...I think any American may not get the whole scone thing...it's meant to be the equivalent of a biscuit but whats for sale labelled scone in the states is like a little muffin usually....easy and great with jam and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleone101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I followed recipe. I used 7up as per one reviewer and these scones...word used very loosely...were awful. They were bland, flat and very tasteless. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I have made these scones several times , the only thing I did was used soda water rather then lemonade as personally I found it very sweet. If you like sweet then you will get plenty from the cream and jam you put on them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by afemisme
Living In: Gippsland, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
This recipe is a flop! The dough was too slack- I had to add an additional cup of flour to make it the right consistency. It needed sugar in the recipe as well. I made these to take to a brunch...and had to leave them at home, they were so bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Ugh! These didn't cook properly in the middle, were too flat and burned on the top !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I am going to try this recipe. I was going to pass over it, but then saw the five star rating by a previous viewer. Using Sprite or Sprite makes since. I am looking forward to trying the recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Scones

Watch how to make tasty, simple scones.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States