Super Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I noted that some reviewers commented on "way too much cracker crumbs"...well, if you read the recipe it only calls for 2/3 cup crumbs in the salmon mixture and the rest is for coating the patties....otherwise, this is a good recipe for salmon cakes; love that they are baked instead of fried. I did spray the baking sheet with a pam-like spray (natural one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
These are super easy & super delicious! I have made these more than a dozen times - they come out wonderful each time. I make the following changes: Use two 6oz cans salmon instead of one 7oz can (or two pre-drained 3oz packets). Add garlic. Use lime juice instead of lemon pepper - makes a huge difference in the taste. Also add frozen onions and green bell peppers. Before cooking I spray each patty once on each side with spray butter which makes them brown nicely. To be healthier, you can substitute spray olive oil if you can find it. I followed another's advice and make a sauce with mayo, lime juice & dill for dipping. Like I said, these come out consistently fantastic. I have served these at dinner parties with many compliments & my husband asks me to make these at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
Usually my crab cakes fall apart, these salmon cakes stayed formed and were really good. I did not add as much of the crushed crackers, but I did add some fresh ground pepper, garlic, and parsley. I did not have green onions so I used finely chopped yellow onion. My kids do like fish most of the time and they ate two of these each. Good recipe for canned salmon. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
This is a family favorite for my family of 6. I usually have to triple the recipe. I use to pan fry our salmon cakes but not no more! Pop these in the oven after you have made a dish of "Down Home Macaroni and Cheese" from this site, and add a salad or green veggie.... my family loves green peas as a side with this.... and you have a great family satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
Easy and yummy! I decided to make a batch of these and bring them to work since I am the only one in the family that eats fish. I made a dipping sauce to go with it: 2 tbsp light mayo, 1 tbsp lemon juice, pinch of basil. Everyone who tried it loved it. The dipping sauce went very well with it. I will make these for the party I'm having next week! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bibs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
All I did to this recipe was add a heaping teaspoon of Old Bay and a little garlic powder. I changed nothing else. I followed the directions EXACT. These salmon cakes were VERY hard to keep together and when they came out of the oven, they were VERY dry. Even the sauce I made to serve with it couldn't save it. The grownups didn't like it at all but funny enough, the kids loved it. Three stars based on that alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2001
This recipe was really good - very easy and had great flavor. I used fresh salmon (I poached it in water, lemon juice and wine), but I think canned would be fine too. I served the salmon cakes with a cucumber-yogurt sauce, and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I used fresh lemon juice & zest instead of lemon pepper, as I think canned salmon needs a "fresh boost". Served with grilled corn on cob and Stir fried asparagus from this site. A very nice, quick, and mostly-healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
My husband really liked these - he's a big fan of salmon cakes and I've never had a recipe to make them. I'll make them again, but next time I'm going to cut back on the crackers added to the salmon, because I feel they were a bit too dry. Other than that, a really good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
The recipe called for too much cracker crumbs, which took much of the flavor away from the salmon. We ended up throwing half the salmon away. It was easy to fix, but not worth the taste and texture it ended up with. We even used a cheese sauce over it, which didn't help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States