Super Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These turned out excellent! I used canned Atlantic salmon (boneless & skinless), Hiland fat free egg product (instead of the egg) and cubed old bread instead of crackers. I added lots of seasoning and cooked it on top of the stove in a cast iron skillet with a touch of Pam spray. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I doubled the salmon using the packaged kind with no bones and no need to drain. Only used the 2cups crackers though and did not coat the patties in the crumbs before frying. We love salmon anything and these were no exception! Very simple and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by randimae
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Definitely needs a longer cook time at 190 C; ended up broiling to make the outer bits crunchy, but all in all a very good way to jazz up salmon!! I've made it twice this week, and following all the instructions they turn out perfect each time! Cutting back on the oil (replacing with mustard) and crackers, and using only egg whites, this is a really yummy way to have healthy salmon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randimae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Maybe some viewers did not realize that only 2/3 cup of the bread crumbs is mixed in with the salmon in the recipe. But even better to me is just 1/2 cup and I have never rolled mine in the crumbs before frying. I've been making Salmon Patties for more than 50 years and my mother made them when I was growing up. They're a favorite with everyone we share them with. I grate my onion instead of chopping (1/2 small onion) and also add 2 tablespoons lemon juice. Enjoyed hearing about a couple of the sauces suggested by viewers. I'm anxious to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
my mom made salmon patties all the time,i couldn't find a recipe until now.these are great and i love the baking way of cooking, we fry too,but my family needs baked dinners rather than fried. wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
These were great and simple! I used fresh salmon instead of canned. I also added some fresh dried cilantro and lemon basil, gave it a great kick. Needed an extra to help hold it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
One of our family's favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I love salmon cakes. My mom used to make them and now they're comfort food for me in more ways than one. I read the reviews and modified the crackers. Quite frankly, I eye-balled it because I was afraid of dryness. They turned out well matter of fact. Husband liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Easy and quick. I added lemon and zest instead of lemon pepper per another review. I didn't have green onions, so I minced some scallions. I doubled the recipe, but only made 2/3's of Saltines and still had extra saltine crumbs left over. Not sure if I cooked them too long, but they were dry. I will try these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L Brennan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
I used fresh lemon juice & zest instead of lemon pepper, as I think canned salmon needs a "fresh boost". Served with grilled corn on cob and Stir fried asparagus from this site. A very nice, quick, and mostly-healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Chef John's Salmon Cakes

Canned wild salmon is the key to these simple and amazing fish cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States