Super Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I made this and it came out wonderful. The biggest thing I feared was them drying out in the oven, but with the right about of Canola Oil instead of Olive Oil they came out perfect. I uses about 3 teaspoons of canola oil. The wonderful thing about this recipe is you can tailor it to your liking, I kept mine in a little longer than the 10 mins because I like mind a little more crispy but all in all, they turned out great. I will certainly be making this again. It's a great meal for the weekdays quick easy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
We only used 1 1/4 cups ground saltines and I patted them with Panko for the outside crust. We also added about 2Tbs of capers to the chopper while pulsing the onions and used lemon salt with fresh ground pepper. YUM!!!!! We also used leftover Salmon not canned, so I think next time I will add OldBay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristinSensei76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deerfield, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I did not care for these. They were very bland and dry and I even added a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Very tasty but a bit dry. I used seasoned bread crumbs instead of saltine crackers (less than recommended in the recipe). I also used two cans of salmon and some diced green pepper for colour and flavour. I will definitely make again and experiment with the proportions of ingredients. I made a dill sauce to dab on top of each salmon cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
All I did to this recipe was add a heaping teaspoon of Old Bay and a little garlic powder. I changed nothing else. I followed the directions EXACT. These salmon cakes were VERY hard to keep together and when they came out of the oven, they were VERY dry. Even the sauce I made to serve with it couldn't save it. The grownups didn't like it at all but funny enough, the kids loved it. Three stars based on that alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent! I had leftover salmon and this was the perfect recipe. Decreased the crumbs a bit, and then used crumbs in the mixture and "rolled" the cakes in panko. Added some diced red bell pepper and dill to the mixture, and voila! Delicious. The dipping sauce I used was a mixture of mayo, creamy horseradish, tartar sauce, and dill, with a splash of lime juice. YUM!! Great base recipe, and love the baking aspect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Super Easy Salmon Cakes' Haiku: "Needs some jazzing up. Otherwise, they're pretty good. And yes, easy too." I added a little red bell pepper for color, and had to used crushed Ritz crackers, instead of Saltines, but I followed the recipe, and found these to be of an unusual texture; crispy outside, but smooshy inside, perhaps from the addition of olive oil, which I've never done in salmon patties b4. The taste is nothing extraordinary, so we had to whip up some flavorful dipping sauces for them, so if I made these again, I'd consider adding alot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I added dill (no onions) and a dash of garlic powder. Cracker crumbs mixed w/bread crumbs, too. A little lemon juice and pepper. Sauteed in coconut oil with a little butter. We all loved it! Served with Eating Well's dill mayo (with yogurt and kefir.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I make these all the time. Super fast and easy. And for some reason.....all 3 of my ridiculously- picky-eater kids love them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was certainly easy as the title says and seems to have potential, but for me it is three stars for several reasons. First, it is pretty bland. Will at least add some sort of more seasoning if I cook it again. Also, the proportions are way off in my estimation. I used a 14-oz can of salmon (which in my experience is the way salmon usually is packaged) and it was just about right for the amount of bread crumbs called for. It also made 8 medium-sized cakes as indicated. I can understand why others complained about too many crumbs if they used the 7-oz can called for. These cakes also absolutely fell apart as I was trying to coat them in crumbs and turn them over in cooking. May try two eggs if there is a next time. On the plus side, it was very easy and seems pretty healthful with good fish and little fat. Served it with a sour cream dill sauce which helped add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Chef John's Fresh Salmon Cakes

See how to make quick-and-easy fish cakes with fresh salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States