Super Easy Salmon Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent! I had leftover salmon and this was the perfect recipe. Decreased the crumbs a bit, and then used crumbs in the mixture and "rolled" the cakes in panko. Added some diced red bell pepper and dill to the mixture, and voila! Delicious. The dipping sauce I used was a mixture of mayo, creamy horseradish, tartar sauce, and dill, with a splash of lime juice. YUM!! Great base recipe, and love the baking aspect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Super Easy Salmon Cakes' Haiku: "Needs some jazzing up. Otherwise, they're pretty good. And yes, easy too." I added a little red bell pepper for color, and had to used crushed Ritz crackers, instead of Saltines, but I followed the recipe, and found these to be of an unusual texture; crispy outside, but smooshy inside, perhaps from the addition of olive oil, which I've never done in salmon patties b4. The taste is nothing extraordinary, so we had to whip up some flavorful dipping sauces for them, so if I made these again, I'd consider adding alot more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I added dill (no onions) and a dash of garlic powder. Cracker crumbs mixed w/bread crumbs, too. A little lemon juice and pepper. Sauteed in coconut oil with a little butter. We all loved it! Served with Eating Well's dill mayo (with yogurt and kefir.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I make these all the time. Super fast and easy. And for some reason.....all 3 of my ridiculously- picky-eater kids love them!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was certainly easy as the title says and seems to have potential, but for me it is three stars for several reasons. First, it is pretty bland. Will at least add some sort of more seasoning if I cook it again. Also, the proportions are way off in my estimation. I used a 14-oz can of salmon (which in my experience is the way salmon usually is packaged) and it was just about right for the amount of bread crumbs called for. It also made 8 medium-sized cakes as indicated. I can understand why others complained about too many crumbs if they used the 7-oz can called for. These cakes also absolutely fell apart as I was trying to coat them in crumbs and turn them over in cooking. May try two eggs if there is a next time. On the plus side, it was very easy and seems pretty healthful with good fish and little fat. Served it with a sour cream dill sauce which helped add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yvette
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I just finished making these n they r all gone I just adjusted some things instead of lemon pepper i used salt n pepper instead of green onions I used a regular onion I only used 2/3 cups of saltine crackers to mix. They came out lovely n tasted so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yvette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I made the mistake of cooking these specific to the recipe before looking over the comments and, well, kinda regretting that now. Let's see... looking over the reviews I see lots of comments like "too many crackers", "added more stuff", "fried instead of baked", etc. They tasted okay, but we used up nearly a whole bottle of sauce getting 'em down. If you decide to try it anyway and get the urge to tweak, know with absolute confidence that you are not alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Flint, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
These turned out excellent! I used canned Atlantic salmon (boneless & skinless), Hiland fat free egg product (instead of the egg) and cubed old bread instead of crackers. I added lots of seasoning and cooked it on top of the stove in a cast iron skillet with a touch of Pam spray. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I doubled the salmon using the packaged kind with no bones and no need to drain. Only used the 2cups crackers though and did not coat the patties in the crumbs before frying. We love salmon anything and these were no exception! Very simple and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by randimae
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Definitely needs a longer cook time at 190 C; ended up broiling to make the outer bits crunchy, but all in all a very good way to jazz up salmon!! I've made it twice this week, and following all the instructions they turn out perfect each time! Cutting back on the oil (replacing with mustard) and crackers, and using only egg whites, this is a really yummy way to have healthy salmon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by randimae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Salmon Cakes

Simple salmon cakes with fresh dill and green onions fry up golden brown.

Easy Mustard-Glazed Broiled Salmon

Just a couple basic ingredients can make broiled salmon amazing.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States