Super Easy Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
It is so frustrating to read a review where the individual didn't follow the directions and cries fowl when it doesn't come out right. I followed this recipe exactly as shown, with the correct sweet dough, and it came out great. I will certainly make it again. It is so much cheaper than ordering through a real NOL bakery to have sent up the East Coast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I'm just wondering what the correct dough is? Is there a name brand you can recommend? I plan on making this later this week and I want it to come out right :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Cool. I am from Baton Rouge,La and this is just as good as the best King cake i have ever had. But the traditional colors are purple, yellow and green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trimell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I had to make 5 cakes for a Mardi Gras party. This cake tasted great and is easy. I only cooked my cake for 30 minutes as I burned the first one at 40 minutes so make sure you really watch it like the recipe says. The only thing I changed was that I used only one can of frosting and then I just used colored sugars to make the pretty colors. It was going to cost me $20 a cake at the bakery and I estimate that I spent about $8 a cake. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Since the picture shows the traditional colors, I'm guessing that you mix the colors to come up with purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This recipe was super easy and the cake turned out beautifully! I also was unsure about the type of dough to use and would appreciate a note of clarity from the author(or anyone else who has made this). I used canned cinnamon rolls and pressed them into a tube pan. I was unable to do any weaving like the recipe stated but the results were very nice. I found that 2 cans of icing were way too much and I will only use one can next time. One reviewer stated that one of the tradtional King Cake colors is purple. You can buy Neon Food Colors that has a bottle of purple. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Trade, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This is awesome! I was looking to do something different for a baby shower and this was perfect! I used 3 cans of cinnamon roll dough, smooshed it together & Rolled it out on waxed paper. I baked just until firm and then drizzled icing over it! Delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I made this last night for a Mardi Gras party, and it was a huge hit! Was easy to make and looked really great with the colored icings and sparkly green and gold sprinkles that I added. Everyone had fun looking for the babies - I put 2 in mine. I used canned whipped white icing with milk added to thin it, and it tasted great. Thanks for this easy and fun recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
This is such a fun recipe! I made it for our Saints Superbowl celebration. Only needed 1 tub of frosting and cinnamon rolls like other reviews have said. I added in 3T of milk to the tub of frosting and I only used sprinkles because I cannot find food coloring anywhere! Loved it! Side note: If you have leftovers, cut yourself a slice and heat it up in the microwave for 15-20 seconds. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This is the 2nd year I have made it for Mardi Gras. Usually I am person who bakes everything from scratch, but l was short on time last year and had never been to NO much less made a king cake before so I gave this a try and it was so good I made it again this year. The recipe didn't specify, so I used Pillsbury orange sweet rolls because I thought it sounded more New Orleans (not that I have any idea, prob it is not) and I really think the orange added to it and made it hard to tell it was from a can versus plain old cinnamon rolls, though you can use them if you don't like orange. I lightly molded them together to form a ring and baked for 20-30 min. NOT 50-60. Keep an eye on it so it doesn't burn! These rolls come with their own icing, which I think is plenty. For me 2 cans would be too much. The orange-flavored icing is good but because it has a pale yellow-orange color to it the food coloring for the purple is a little tricky. Last year I followed the directions on the back of the food coloring box which calls for more red than blue. Bad idea, it turned out brownish. Instead stay true to this recipe and use equal amounts red and blue (I used 3 of each). Great recipe. I would not have thought of it. Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States