Super Easy Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This really was super easy. I've only made King Cake from scratch once prior to this cake and I would have to say this cake is easier and tasted better. I didn't understand the directions very well so I just layed the 18 cinnamon buns upright in a tight circle. Cooked and decorated as directed but added colored turbinado sugar. It was beautiful! Served with Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya, Cajun Dirty Rice, and corn on the cob for Mardi Gras/Fat Tuesday 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Sorry, it was lumpy. These rolls are precut and not made to be unwound. I was hoping they might taste better than the last time I tried them several years ago. Nope, still artificial. Give this recipe a pass and patronize your local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
will have to 'do-over' with regards to constructing the cake... i was short on time and read reviews where the person just mushed it together and rolled it out. i thought i would try my version of that. when they baked, they separated. i will try to unroll and braid when i have more time. i like A LOT of icing {esp to hide the separation of the rolls} but i still only used one can of icing, and had a bit leftover. i choose to use crystal sprinkles instead of tinting icing--- HIGHLY RECOMMEND... so much easier and it seems pretty authentic looking to me! can't wait to dig in and taste... {4 stars because directions weren't as clear as i think they could have been regarding construction, but that could just be me!}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Easy to make with children. Don't by Pillsbury cinnamon rolls unless you want to roll all of them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My sister and I wanted to have a Mardi Gras party for our girls, and this cake was the perfect way to make things cheap and simple. I bought 3 cans of cinnamon roll dough from the refrigerated section of the store (with the pizza doughs, crescent rolls, and refrigerated cookie doughs). I just unrolled the strands in each can (mine came in about 6 strands), smashed them together, folded in half and rolled a little. I repeated this with each can, shaped the 3 logs into a ring and smooshed those together, twisted them a little bit, and then baked. It only took me 25 minutes to bake, so do watch the time carefully (I know my oven is a little hotter than most, but I think 50-60 min. might burn for most people). I forgot to cover with foil, but will do so next time. I used the icing that came with the cinnamon rolls, and added food coloring to the 3 tubs of icing to make green, yellow, and purple. I cut a hole in the bottom of the cake, stuck the baby in and filled it back up and iced over the bottom (which did make things messy!) I didn't do as neat a job as I could have, but we were just having fun. Everyone raved about this cake (more so than when I bake from scratch...ahem!). The kids had a blast with it and want to make another cake again soon. I think this cake does not have to be limited to Mardi Gras--my sister said she would like to make this for a brunch (minus the food coloring and plastic baby, of course!). Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
love this especially the addition by someone who said they used one orange roll in the braid. Mardi Gras colors are green, gold and purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deltadelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
EASY EASY but with a little tweaking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauren Ide
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used 2 cans of cinnamon rolls from ALDI, unrolled them, separated into 4 strands, braided them together and formed the braids into a ring. I'm from New Orleans and usually make one from scratch. This was the BEST kingcake we've ever had!!! I used the icing that came with the cinnamon rolls and sprinkled colored sugar. AWESOME! My kids are so happy to have fresh king cake in IL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I made this for the Superbowl and it was a hit! Great idea for future Mardi-Gras parties as store bought King Cakes in Western MD are unheard of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States