Super Easy Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Made this for the first time and thought it was awesome...I made one from scratch last mardi gras..was good but lots of work...I did mix up a filling for this cake..just softened cream cheese and powdered sugar...i have eaten authentic New Orleans King cake only once..this was not quite as good but a very close second..would def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Harcar
Home Town: Stow, Ohio, USA
Photo by DAISYTAZZY
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe was great! Why go spend a lot of money on a premade King Cake when you can make a tastier and cheaper one at home?? This is a keeper for sure. I used the Pillsbury Cinnamon Twists..it came with icing and I did not use food coloring, only the colored sugared sprinkles. Tasted great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I just made this for Mardi Gras in Los Angeles. I used 2 cans Pillsbury Cinnabon rolls and they include a little container of frosting in the end of the can. Plenty to spread around. I just placed the buns together on a cookie sheet in a wreath shape. Fast and easy! Keep an eye on them. It took about 10 min to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This really was super easy. I've only made King Cake from scratch once prior to this cake and I would have to say this cake is easier and tasted better. I didn't understand the directions very well so I just layed the 18 cinnamon buns upright in a tight circle. Cooked and decorated as directed but added colored turbinado sugar. It was beautiful! Served with Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya, Cajun Dirty Rice, and corn on the cob for Mardi Gras/Fat Tuesday 2012.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Sorry, it was lumpy. These rolls are precut and not made to be unwound. I was hoping they might taste better than the last time I tried them several years ago. Nope, still artificial. Give this recipe a pass and patronize your local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
will have to 'do-over' with regards to constructing the cake... i was short on time and read reviews where the person just mushed it together and rolled it out. i thought i would try my version of that. when they baked, they separated. i will try to unroll and braid when i have more time. i like A LOT of icing {esp to hide the separation of the rolls} but i still only used one can of icing, and had a bit leftover. i choose to use crystal sprinkles instead of tinting icing--- HIGHLY RECOMMEND... so much easier and it seems pretty authentic looking to me! can't wait to dig in and taste... {4 stars because directions weren't as clear as i think they could have been regarding construction, but that could just be me!}
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Easy to make with children. Don't by Pillsbury cinnamon rolls unless you want to roll all of them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My sister and I wanted to have a Mardi Gras party for our girls, and this cake was the perfect way to make things cheap and simple. I bought 3 cans of cinnamon roll dough from the refrigerated section of the store (with the pizza doughs, crescent rolls, and refrigerated cookie doughs). I just unrolled the strands in each can (mine came in about 6 strands), smashed them together, folded in half and rolled a little. I repeated this with each can, shaped the 3 logs into a ring and smooshed those together, twisted them a little bit, and then baked. It only took me 25 minutes to bake, so do watch the time carefully (I know my oven is a little hotter than most, but I think 50-60 min. might burn for most people). I forgot to cover with foil, but will do so next time. I used the icing that came with the cinnamon rolls, and added food coloring to the 3 tubs of icing to make green, yellow, and purple. I cut a hole in the bottom of the cake, stuck the baby in and filled it back up and iced over the bottom (which did make things messy!) I didn't do as neat a job as I could have, but we were just having fun. Everyone raved about this cake (more so than when I bake from scratch...ahem!). The kids had a blast with it and want to make another cake again soon. I think this cake does not have to be limited to Mardi Gras--my sister said she would like to make this for a brunch (minus the food coloring and plastic baby, of course!). Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
love this especially the addition by someone who said they used one orange roll in the braid. Mardi Gras colors are green, gold and purple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States