Super Easy Mardi Gras King Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FunkyGourmet
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was super easy and delicious! I used the Cinamabon dough recipe and it came beautiful. Very tasty as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunkyGourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Easy recipe. My daughter made her first kings cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Easy to make and good to eat. Everyone loved it. Hello Mardi Gras
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary Branson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was a a hit and virtually no work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
What a fun and super easy way to brighten up a routine day at work or at school. I made 3 of these cakes for 'Fat Tuesday 2014'. My hubby took 1 to work and I took the other 2 to school. Everyone loved it! I used 2 cans of cinnamon rolls and 1 can of orange rolls. I separated the rolls, braided them and formed a ring. They baked at the 350° but they only took 17 minutes to bake. To frost, I used the icing packet that came with the rolls and added some 'Grocery Store Frosting' from AR to the mix and added food color gel. I hid a plastic baby in each cake before they were iced. I printed the story that goes along with the history behind the cake and warned people to look for the baby before eating their piece. A fun day that was enjoyed by all, and as easy as this was, I will surly make them again next year! Thanks, BUDDHAFULDREAMER for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Did the best I could putting this together. Tasted like what it was...refrigerated cinnamon biscuit dough. If I ever want to make a King cake again I'll use another recipe and do it from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I love this! Being from Louisiana I missed having a king cake in California. Everywhere here was charging an arm and a leg so I'm so glad I found this recipe. My husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Super Easy. I only had 2 cans of cinnamon rolls so I clumped them together into one long roll. I put them in a round cake pan. I didn't need a giant king cake I was just testing it out for myself and the kids. My sons step mom is from new Orleans so he has tried it. I have never had one so I said well lets try to make one. It came out easy. I decorated it in the colors with the frosting that came with the cinnamon rolls. It looks wonderful, it's soft, a little too sugary for breakfast more of a desert cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
It tastes fine but it just tastes like canned cinnamon rolls. I should have known better after reading the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIREBRAND95
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Just like the name says, this recipe is super easy! I've never tried to braid dough so I wasn't sure if that part would be difficult, but decided to try. Braiding the dough was a cinch! I used 2 cans of cinnamon rolls & 1 can of orange rolls. I used the icing that came with the rolls as well as a bit of vanilla frosting, colored them, and drizzled them over the cake. Took it to Bible study and everyone gobbled it up especially my pastor who is a Louisiana native. Everyone thought it was homemade & asked for the recipe. I kept my secret though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

How to Make King Cake

Watch how to make this festive Mardi Gras cake.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States