Super Easy Jelly Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
OK...these were kinda amazing!! I was home alone this evening...craving donuts...but it was too late to make them. I stumbled upon this recipe and I must admit, I was skeptical when I read it. Then, after reading the first few reviews I decided to give it a try. wow!! am I glad I did! They are AWESOME! they really taste like donuts. I did stray from the recipe slightly, cooking mine between 325 & 350 as they seemed to be cooking too fast on the outside at 375. I then put some white sugar in a bag and gave them a shake when they were done. Of course I couldn't stop at one...I've already eaten 3 and poured a big glass of milk. If you follow the directions, you will not be disappointed with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Easy Easy Easy! Such a fun take on doughnuts. Its like an awesome piece of french toast wrapped around strawbery jelly! My 3 and 5 year old loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JME31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
These were good, and they were pretty easy. I'm not sure why the recipe calls for cutting the bread into fourths. Each "doughnut" was so small and didn't provide much jelly. I'll try these again but I will, as a previous reviewer suggested, use a thicker bread, and I will leave them in bigger portions with a generous amount of jelly in the center. Thanks for the fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
From the recipe submitter: Try using a smaller amount of jam/jelly on each sandwich prior to cutting into 1/4's. Day old or any type of bread works just fine. Also, instead of dipping the bread into the batter, try using a spoon to pour it over the 1/4's, and then turn to cover the other side. Allow the excess the drip off before placing in hot oil. Happy eating :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana Sidek
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I'm so glad to come across to this recipe. One sunday morning when I woke up from sleep and found nothing to serve for breakfast except bread and jam and I remember that I have printed this recipe so we had this for breakfast with coffee of course. Thank you for this super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Sidek

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jurong West, West Region, Singapore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
So So good and easy. I left my bread whole and filled with pumpkin spice pudding , pinched around the edges and dipped in the batter and fried. everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bigmommahill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This very super easy and great when there is nothing in the house but bread & jam. Kids loved them -- husband not so much. (he ate them cold) Would make again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I have an EXTREME love for donuts. Its something lovely that you could have for breakfast or as a super sweet late night snack. When i saw this recipe a few agos I knew I had to try it and today, with my loaf of white bread in hand, I decided to make them and MAN O MAN did they come out perfect. Its such a simple recipe that anyone and everyone really should try it. I sadly didnt have any confectioners sugar, so I didnt get my cherry on top, but I made Orange, Watermelon, Guava and Raspberry donuts and each one is delicious. Definitely will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This recipe is great, but could use some tweaking. The batter wasn't very sweet, making the confectioner's sugar a necessary part of the recipe (otherwise they don't taste much like doughnuts). In the future I was add more sugar to the batter. Other than that, these are delicious- what a great, easy way to make jelly-filled doughnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becktasm
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was really easy and fun for my boys to do. They had a blast making different kind of doughnuts. It was alright for me and my husband, we ate them, but nothing to rave about. I did make them for breakfast one morning and added cream cheese and jelly to the inside, so It was just basically a stuffed french toast, but it was good. I sprinkled mine with Cinn. and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalsmith722

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eglin Afb, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States