Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
This recipe is a flavour-success, but an effective failure. The fundamental problem is that in order to roll out the dough and maybe to use a doughnut cutter, the dough has to be a dough and not a batter. This recipe makes a batter. About a quarter cup of milk is all you'll need, but quickly work on it until you have made a soft dough. Don't add all the liquid until you have it figured. Add a bit more flour if it is too thin. You should be able to hand-form a tight circle of dough, if necessary. And remember that it cook to double in thickness and be 2/3rds wider than the original dough circle, with the hole getting bigger. So make your circle pretty tight. It tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
I tried this recipe, but instead of all that stuffing about with milk and vinegar, I just decided to use plain Greek yoghurt, which delivered the exact result I expected. I also didn't deep fry them, but just fried them like normal in a mixture of butter and oil. I'm going to now bring the few leftovers I have to university and see how my friends like them~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This recipe was awesome! Super crispy on the outside and cakey on the inside. I didn't really know how to calculate the 3/8ths cup thing so i just took my measuring cup and poured between the 1/2 and 1/3 cups line (too lazy for math). I also used coconut oil and instead used butter for shortening. Had to add a little more flour too for rolling it out. Looked like It wasn't going to turn out good but i was super surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
They didn't turn out. The oil was two hot and turned them black after only being in the oil for 30 seconds. Then, when the oil was cool enough, they just didn't taste good. Ill probably try again another time, but this time is just wasn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
The dough was so runny, I kept adding flour to it because I could not roll it out, it made me 22 donuts, very not edible at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is the best donut I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I Made these this morning and they turned out great! I did cut the milk in half like one of the others suggested. Thanks for that they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2C00k

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This recipe wasn't good. It was like a mix between a cake doughnut and a regular doughnut. I could definitely taste the vinegar in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I used 1/2 cup of milk with lemon juice (instead of vinegar) and substituted butter for the shortening. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Anneli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
It really was super easy! I used coconut oil and it worked just fine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States