Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I was at first a little iffy about the vinegar, but at the end I was pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeAnna L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
This was fun to try. I thought I would have a real doughy mixture - something I could actually roll and cut. This is not the case. I did everything according to the directions, but it didn't work out for me. However, I was able to drop the liquid dough into the oil and fry them - it was more like funnel cake. My husband raved over these! I will make again - even though I wasn't comfortable with the consistency. Oh, we were eating "doughnuts" in no time - super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
As a previous rated said, the dough was more of a batter consistency for me, therefore I wasn't able to roll or cut the dough. Thats my only complaint! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinyTurtle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
These are not doughnuts. They are definitely dough, however. We took the advice of a few other reviewers and dropped them by tablespoon into the oil. Unfortunatly, all we found were sour tasting dough balls. The powdered sugar, cinnamon sugar, and glazes that we used to try and improve the taste did little to help. Overall, if you are craving doughnuts, I recommend you look elsewhere for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
5 Stars!!! Great use of ingredients,was shocked that you can use white vinegar this way. Wife loves `em! This one is a keeper!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
This recipe should be called Fairly Easy Funnel Cakes. There was no way to make donuts out of the resulting "batter," but pouring that into the oil did make for pretty tasty funnel cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
The recipe is misleading in that you can't roll the dough out and cut it. I dropped it by spoonfuls into the oil. I didn't care for it much, but my 4 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenneumann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
I used buttermilk in place of the vinegar and milk combination and added an extra 4 tablespoons of flour. I could not get a dough to form but dropped the mixture by spoonfuls into the oil. I found that the oil did not need to be nearly as hot as called for(I had mine at approximately 160 degrees F) and used small spoonfuls and the end result was very tasty. I made a glaze with powdered sugar, water and vanilla to go on top. Thanks for the recipe, it was very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LACMOORE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This Donuts are quick easy, and my husband and daughter loved them. They also have the bonus of being lower in sodium, than most of the donut recipes one usually finds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
It was ausome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States