Super Easy Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
these were good but lacked a great flavor. Needs lots of tweeks to make them taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danni Haverfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: North Vernon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patidee
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
(photo#8) i substituted donut receipe for Phillsberry Buttermilk Biscuits; DEEP fry each in veg oil few minutes, turning til golden-brown all sides (don't overcook them, if they are cooking too fast, lower flame, othewise insides will be sticky); they will be about the size of a lemon, or 3bites; allow to cool on paper towel about 20 minutes before filling. i found a filling receipe for 'raspberry sauce' as follows: One 12oz bag of frozen raspberries (not in syrup) ½ cup + 3 TB of water ¾ cup white sugar/Splenda 1 TB lemon juice 3 TB cornstarch ¼ cup cold water Gently simmer the raspberries, water, sugar and lemon juice for 15 minutes, in a small heavy bottomed pan. After 15 minutes, you can push the berries through a sieve if want a seedless filling (I got rid of the seeds). Bring the strained berries back to a full simmer. Dissolve the cornstarch in the ¼ cup of water and whisk it into the simmering berries. Bring it back to a boil, and simmer for another five minutes. Cool/chill completely. It will thicken as it cools. i followed this receipe exactly and the Raspberry sauce was slightly tart, absolutel delish!; i would not make any change in the amount of sugar unless you like it sweet-sweet; i cooled the filling overnight, but i think it would be okay if refrigerated an hour or two; i used a pastry bag with the long tip; also; poked side of the donut with tip of a knife where pastry tip inserted to prevent squeezing donut; dust TOPs of donuts with conf. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patidee
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this recipe 2 in one day and my neighbors and family loved them! SSOOOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOODDDD!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were easy and great. First time making donuts and got the oil a little hot. Next time I'll make sure to get the temp stabilized before I start :) Did anyone try to add cocoa to make chocolate? I might try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by usmccopwife43
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
These where out standing and yummy after trying another donuts recipe that had the texture of bagels I was kinda eager to try another. When I saw the picture on here with the fully look of a cakey donut I was like I must try old fashion cakey donuts are my favorite sure enough I found my favorite donut at last and I can make them and enjoy them with my tea you must definitely try :) they are outstanding. You can't even taste the white vinegar in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmccopwife43

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terryville, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
If making doughnut holes, be sure to make them small so they won't burn on the outside and stay doughy on the inside. I found they work better as doughnut rings instead of holes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe but I followed the advice of others. I used 1/2 cup milk and added 2TB of apple cider vinegar to it and let set a couple minutes before adding into the dry ingredients. Also make sure you let your doughnuts to sit before frying. I ended up with 9 doughnuts and 9 holes. Perfect amount for my kids for a special after school snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I thought these were really good, and I liked that I had all of the ingredients. The only modification I made was to use buttermilk instead of the milk/vinegar mixture because I needed to use some up. The texture was lighter than some of the other ones I've tried. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These are okay. They taste too much like a biscuit to me...not like a cake donut. We were looking for a cake donut and did not find the taste we were looking for. Thanks for a quick recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States