Super Easy Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
HOLY GUACAMOLE!!! I read the reviews before making this and believed that the addition of the sour cream would tone down the mega heat from all the spices. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THIS ADVICE! We really enjoy hot and spicy foods but this was WAY TOO HOT! I did eat it and I did finish it, but it was a bit painful to do. The spices got to my sinuses and my nose was running so much that I went through 7 tissues during dinner. And the ceiling fan that was keeping us nice & cool seemed as if it was no longer functioning. We had sweat dripping from us by the time we were through. The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars is because it does have potential. I will try it again, but I'll cut back on the cayenne by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was great! We really enjoyed it. BUT because we value our health and sanity, we did NOT follow the spices as called for. I added 1 1/2 T. cumin, 2 T. chili powder, and 1/4 tsp. cayenne. The first two are variable, but the second needs that reduction. This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Everyone in my family loved this! Even my three picky children who "don't like beans!" I cut the cyanne pepper to 1/4 tsp, used black beans and used fat free sour cream. I also cut up boneless skinless chicken breast and cooked it with the broth, chili's and spices in the crockpot, one hour before serving I added black beans, and 15 min before serving I added the sour cream. WE LOVED THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great chili! The seasonings in the recipe do need to be adjusted though... be sure to read the other reviews for modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellent - although I did follow the advice of so many others before me and cut back on the spices. I used 1 tbsp cumin, 1 tbsp chili powder, and 1 tsp cayenne pepper. PERECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clintwood, Virginia, USA
Living In: Killeen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Very nice chicken chili! I made this because I didn't have time for mine - it was easy! I halved the red pepper and still found it quite hot, but good! I added two cans stewed tomatoes and a can of drained corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Sullivan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpine, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This chili is delicious!! The only reason I rated 4 stars rather than 5 is because I have to reduce the cumin to 2 tbsp and the cayenne to about 1 1/2 tsp. My husband and I both love spicy foods and 2 tbsp cayenne pepper is EXTREMELY spicy!! Other than that, I follow the recpipe and it is great with cornbread. It has become a family favorite..and its quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I found it to have too much cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I couldn't believe how spicey this was!! Tried adding more chicken broth and some milk but could not eat. I also choked and had tears running down my face. It would be alot less spicey without the green chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by APRILSS
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
VERY yummy, but SPICY! I didn't have any sour cream, but i'll be adding some before we reheat the leftovers! We used this to spoon over chips and made plates of chicken chili nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States