Super Duper Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Very yummy, but a little high in sugar for a breakfast muffin in my opinion. I may try it again with less white sugar and skipping the brown sugar altogether. Great taste from the zucchini (I used shredded apple too based on a review) and cinnamon/nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Stelle
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
My friends very picky eaters actually requested these muffins! I cannot get them to eat anything while while they are at my house! I used the pumpkin pie spice and apple idea from a previous reviewer! What a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Loved this recipe. Increased the nutmeg and cinnamon. Moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This was ok, with a little tweaking. I did double the cinnamon. I also doubled the nutmeg, which I'm not gong to next time. It was overpowering. I added a bit more sugar and used half wheat flour and half regular flour. Ill make these again, and also, grate the zucchini with the fine grater, not the bigger one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsazsa Gardea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
We made this recipe a bit healthier...a delicious breakfast treat! I used freshly ground whole wheat instead of white flour, cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup, used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon (kept nutmeg at 1 tsp), upped the salt to 1 tsp (but used yummy sea salt), used cold butter in place of shortening, used 1/2 cup plain yogurt as we didn't have sour milk on hand, used 2 cups zucchini, and a whole cup of the walnuts. I could not even stir the batter, it was so thick, and so added a splash of milk -- worked like a charm. These muffins were not light and fluffy as others attested to, no doubt because of the whole wheat, butter, and extra nuts. They were hearty, tasty, and very satisfying. We will make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I could taste the baking powder. Aside from that they would have been awesome. Good texture, moist and stored well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Super yummy! I took the advice of pervious posters and doubled the milk and cinnamon, and added a little extra nutmeg. I also used a little more walnuts than called for, and added a handful of raisins. I used naturally sour raw milk rather than milk and vinegar, and also used a stick of softened butter rather than shortening. So good! I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
Just like the others stated, the muffins tasted a bit bland. I think I would try adding a bit more cinnamon/pumpkin spice and add either pineapple or applesauce for a bit more moisture. Otherwise, these muffins are pretty good and "light" tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
My brother grew some whopper size zucchinis and I have never baked with them before. I tried this recipe, doubled it up, and I added an extra cup of grated zucchini and extra cinnamon as I love it soooo much (also added some raisons just because they fit in everything, but that is a personal option)...and waited for the results from the oven. They took an extra 10 minutes to bake, but I have to say that this recipe is absolutely awesome! The brown sugar sprinkled on the top add such a caramel type touch...I've eaten two already! If you like fresh zucchini, definiately try these, you will not be disappointed!!! Thanks Jessi for submitting this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I thought these muffins were just ok (a little bland) while my friend thought they were really good (he liked the muffin tops) - therefore the 4 star rating. I was a little thrown by the thickness of the batter and added extra milk - they came out fluffy and moist. I did change the topping and added some cinnamon, butter and flour to the brown sugar - this makes it sweet and crunchy and adds a little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States