Super Duper Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
SOOOOOOO GOOD!!!! This is a recipe I will keep and use often. I followed the recipe exactly the first time which I think is the only way to give a fair review. I like that these muffins are light and fluffy and not heavy as when oil is used. The second time I added raisins along with the nuts with equally perfect results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I followed this recipe pretty closely except added a little more cinnamon and nutmeg. The muffins were very bland still and just seemed to be missing something. I could also taste the baking powder as another reviewer had mentioned. Edible but NOT incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
These are unreal! I've made them twice now and the second time I made them healthier by using less sugar (and I use turbinado, which always tastes better in baking to me), more zucchini, and substituting apple sauce for the lard, and voila--they tasted even BETTER than the first time! also DON'T forget that sprinkling of brown sugar on top, it balances out the taste perfectly. my housemates hear the word "zucchini" now and their eyes light up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I hate rating recipies if I've altered the ingredients, because then I'm not rating the one listed but the one I created. But I feel, for this recipe, my changes didn't alter the end product that much, and if anything, the original recipe may even be better. Instead of all white flour, I use 1 1/4 white, 1/2 cup of whole wheat, 1/2 c flaxseed meal and 1/2 c wheat germ. I left the sugars the same and used 2 heaping tsp. of cinnamon and 1 heaping tsp. of nutmeg. I used probably more like 1 2/3 cup of shredded zucchini, which I squeezed out first. The same amount of milk and salt and real butter rather than shortening (I don't do fake foods). These muffins were OUT OF THIS WORLD. I'd never had zucchini muffins before, so I was surprised at the nice sweet taste these had. I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Good way to have my kids eating zucchini! They turned out perfect, moist and light at the same time. I put some cocoa powder, yogurth instead of sour milk (I had to put more than the recipe requested or the batter wouldn't have been manageable), real butter and 2 cups of shredded zucchini. I'll keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Oh so moist. I added some currants. The best muffins I have had in a very long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I made some healthy substitutions, but even with that they were wonderful! I did 1 c. white flour, 1 c. whole wheat flour, and 1/4 c. mixed wheat germ and flax seed meal. I used less sugar and 1/4 c. shortening and 1/4 c. apricot puree (in place of applesauce, just because I had it!) I did some with nuts and some without and just a few with brown sugar and found I liked the plain ones best--no nuts and no extra sugar! They were very light and fluffy and delicious! My kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
EXCELLENT! These are really tasty. We just finished making them and my family is WOWED! We did some of the adjustments from previous reviews and they turned out perfect. We added 1/8 cup more milk, used 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown. Instead of so much baking powder we used 1 1/2 tsp powder and 1 1/2 soda. To lessen the "baking powder" taste. The are moist, light and full of flavor! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKERS68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
These are great muffins. I added a 1/2 cup of chocolate chips as if there is chocolate in them, my kids will eat them. These are a hit at home as well as in my daycare. These muffins have become a favorite around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used pumpkin instead of shortening and added 4 tbs hot chocolate mix (because it was too late to go get cocoa powder...) and craisins... wow how lovely as a loaf! flax and oatmeal sprinkled on top - very nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriannap

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States