Super Duper Zucchini Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Yum! I made mine multi grain. I'm deleting my other zucchini bread recipes, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I cut the sugar back a bit, to a touch more than a half cup. I used a teaspoon each of baking powder/baking soda and instead of using a whole half cup of shortening, I used a quarter cup of melted butter and a quarter cup of unsweetened applesauce. At the last minute, I added a little more than a half cup of raisins that I soaked in hot unsweetened chai tea before I added them to the batter. I actually got 18 muffins out of this recipe that were a bit on the large side and mine were done in a little over 20 minutes. These were so good! The kids and I just loved them. It's one of the best muffins I've had all month. My oldest boy ate four and asked for more! This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Delicious! Based on reviews I tweaked this a little: subbed 1/2 C of WW flour for 1/2 C of the all-purp flour, used a scant 1/2 C each of brown and white sugar, used 2 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp soda, doubled the cinnamon, used butter instead of shortening, yogurt instead of sour milk (with an added splash of milk while mixing to moisten batter just a bit), and added 1/2 C grated apple to the zucchini (after gathering the shredded zucchini in my hands to squeeze out some of the water... hmmm... maybe don't squeeze the zucchini and then you won't have to add the extra milk?). The muffins are light, tender, and will disappear as soon as the kids get home from school, I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Fort, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Fukuoka, Fukuoka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Excellent recipe! Make sure to grease & flour muffin pans heavily. We made regular size (no paper liners) & Mini Muffins (with paper liner & greased the lip of the pan for expansion of batter above the liner). Cooked minis for 12 min. Used H&H w/ vinegar for the "sour" milk. Batter is quite thick, which is OK. Zucchini leeches water when cooked, so they came out super moist and perfect. Very hardy muffins, with just a touch of sweetness. I can't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Really yummy and moist! I used whole wheat flour and butter instead of shortening.... Shortening kinda scares me with all the hydrogenated and partially hydrogenated oils. Were great and still perfectly fluffy and light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
myself and 4 kids loved these!!! I made mine apple muffins instead of zucchini ; ) and a couple other substitutions: 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 cup white, 1/4 cup flax meal 1 cup brown sugar - 1/4 cup splenda 1/2 cup margerine instead of shortening 1/4 plain non-fat yogurt instead of milk added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon and just a 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. shredded granny smith apples instead of zucchini. no nuts. baked for 17 1/2 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Love this recipe. I adapted it to fit what I had on hand to make it. Instead of shortening I used 1/2 cup applesauce and mixed it in with the dry ingredients before adding the wet ingredients. Also I did not use sour milk, instead I put a mixture of 2% and coffee mate creamer into it. These are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I thought they turned out really good, easy to make my two yr old helped me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
Super easy and yummy. I peel the zucchini before shredding it because my younger son will not eat it if he knows it's in there! =) I've made this several times and a few times I've used mini chocolate chips instead of walnuts, if I'm serving it to kids with allergies. EASY, PEASY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banslug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
These muffins are good, not great. They are not incredibly sweet like zucchini bread. I would leave the nuts out next time. Not really dense enough to appreciate the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Savory Zucchini Chard Muffins

These Savory Zucchini and Chard Muffins are just right for brunch or lunch.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States