Super Duper Easy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Very good cake! Next time I will add more spices to give a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I didn't try this so I have to rely on hub's review. He found this nice and appley, like a fresh apple pie, with a pleasant balance of cinnamon and sweetness. There was something off putting about it though, he said, and my guess is that he found that the boxed cake mix taste shined through. He said that while it was good, it was not stellar, just average. His favorite part was the butterscotch chips/toasted chopped pecan topping and the caramel glaze I topped it with. (For the caramel glaze I melted some caramel ice cream topping with butter, then added powdered sugar until desired consistency. A perfectly acceptable, but only average, cake. Following day update: First, I forgot to mention that I substituted apple juice for the water called for in the recipe. Second, hubs brought the cake to work this morning and it was gone just a few hours later. And a co-worker personally took the time to email me that the cake was...."heaven." I guess I need to change my rating from 3 stars to 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Very easy, extra moist cake. The cinnamon changes the appearance of the cake enough that it doesn't look like a box cake. I took this to work and everybody loved it. Can't believe it is so easy! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is wonderful. My family and friends loved it. It is a little crumbly but it's great just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
The result was delicious. Some comments: Mix box does not have a size 10 tube pan as one of the sizes to use. The bundt pan is probably the smallest you can use. Batter is voluminous and wouldn't fit into a 10 tube. I used a 13x9 and it worked fine; not as pretty. Cinnamon taste was not strong, might add a bit more the next time. I was also thinking of adding apple pie spice instead of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
WOW! Just as delicious and moist as it is easy. I'm impressed and the cake is already almost half gone. Used 3 apples and topped with a caramel glaze from another recipe on this website. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was pretty good. As per other reviewers' suggestions, I added nutmeg and cinnamon. I didn't have yellow cake mix, so I used Duncan Heinz butter cake mix. It came out very moist. I think it will be very nice with walnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this for Christmas dessert and topped it with a creamy cinnamon glaze. It was awesome!!!!!! I was a little nervous at first having never tried it, but it was a huge success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Graham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
After being left with several pounds of apples after a school event for my daughter's Winter Guard team, I've been searching high and low for recipes with apples in them so all these beautiful apples wouldn't have to be thrown out! When I found this cake it seemed too easy, but hey, I'm all about easy this time of year, so I gave it a try! This has to be by far the best cake I've made in quite a while! I did replace the oil for the cake mix with cinnamon applesauce after reading one of the reviews, and added a little more chopped apple...and wow, what a cake! So easy and so good, this will become a frequent flier at our house! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Tow Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Kiefer, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used a spice cake instead of yellow and replaced the oil with applesauce. Very good and super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States