Super Duper Easy Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I used an extra 1/2 tablespoon of cinnamon. And I used canned apples for pie. I didn't drain them, I just chopped them fine. I made muffins with this recipe. The kids went nuts over them. I am wondering what did Cindy put on top of her cake? You can see something in the photo, but it's not in the recipe. I found a wonderful pecan glaze. It turned out great, we will be making this at thanks giving and christmas. Also if you have leftover apple cake, after about 3 days you should refrigerate, you can reheat in microwave, about 10 seconds for muffins. I had enough batter to make 30 full size muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe is great! My family and friends love this when I have made it. People don't even believe it starts as a box cake. I have made some changes to the recipe. I use cinnamon applesauce instead of oil. I also use equal parts water and apple juice. I add more apple to the recipe as well. It comes out so moist and juicy. I then use the Caramel frosting I recipe on this site. It is the perfect compliment to the apples. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I was rather disappointed with this recipe. With the high rating it got and others' rave reviews, I expected much more. I made a few adjustments as mentioned in other reviews such as increasing the cinnamon by 1+ teaspoons and adding 1/4 tsp nutmeg, as well as adding 1/4 cup applesauce to replace some of the oil, but the flavor is still surprisingly BLAND! Sure, it is "super duper" moist, but to me the flavor in this is almost non-existent. Would definitely not make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURA-ANN
Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
love it love it thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was very easy to make, not too sweet and moist. The hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Delicious! I used 3 macintosh apples because they were in season locally. I glazed the top with a basic vanilla glaze which made it pretty to bring to work but was not necessary. Cake is plenty sweet and moist. My house smelled amazing & my kids said the cake "tasted like Thanksgiving." Will definitely make this again. Thank you Cindy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This was great! Used 1/2 amount of oil called for and added applesauce for rest. Made pumpkin cream cheese for an extra nice treat. (4oz reg cream cheese/4oz low fat cream cheese/1/2c pumpkin/ 1tsp vanilla/4T brown sugar) Served a dollop with those that wanted it. :) Super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This recipe is easy and so good. I can't stop eating this cake! I added an extra apple and a little more cinnamon. I already can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
FANTASTIC!!!!!!! So easy and absolutely delicious! Always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Since I used a mix, I did notice a slight fake vanilla taste. This one was a hard sell at a potluck. Took it home to my fiance, and he said he was glad it didn't get much play since it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NWMolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States