Super Duper Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
They were okay, but not quite what I was looking for. The cookies like this I remember were more moist/chewy and these were a bit dry. I won’t make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souper Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Depoe Bay, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I have been making these cookies since I was a child! We call them Chocolate Crinkles. Couldn't find my recipe (until after I found this one) and it's almost exactly the same. We substitute 1/2 C cocoa plus 4 Tblspn shortening for the chocolate squares, and we don't add the baking powder. I tried that in there, and made no difference to the cookies. Baking on Parchment is a MUST - so much easier! OMG try Dark Cocoa instead and WOW yummy dark chocolate cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This is absolutely one of the best chocolate cookie recipes I've ever used! I live in a 'developing' country and don't always have access to everything. I substituted coco powder for the cooking chocolate and it worked perfectly. Recipe is VERY versatile and is now one of my 'own'. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I substituted butter for shortening and only baked for about 13 minutes. They came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deltona, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This recipe is pretty tweakable. I used cocoa instead of chocolate and oil instead of shortening, and it was still great. Im glad I ran across this. Definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
These were really yummy! I had some trouble with rolling the dough into balls as it was very sticky but I didn't refrigerate it as long as recommended so it was probably my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Had high hopes...was looking for a chewy brownie cookie to make for a friend. Texture was exactly what I was hoping for but the taste is bland and not like a cookie at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I followed the recipes exactly as written, only substituting pecans for walnuts. The cookies came out awesome. So tasty and they look great w/ my other Christmas cookies. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
WONDERFUL! Made these for a party and they were the first to go (and there were lots of other cookies there!) I followed exact but added a bit more flour because some people mentioned they spread, mine did not at all! The key to this recipe is to make sure your dough is COLD when rolling (chill at least 3 hours) and do not OVERCOOK. I only baked mine for 12 mins (and my cookies were big - I only got 3 doz out of this recipe) then allow to cool on the cookie sheet for 5-10 mins then remove to cooling rack until completely set. They may not look completely done when you take them out but if you overbake these they will be so dry and awful. And my kids had a ball rolling in the powdered sugar...so this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
These cookies were absolutely delicious! However, i used choco chips instead of choco bars... They were alot of fun to make too. In my opinion, they were better after they sat for a day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Chocolate Snowcap Cookies

See how to make a fudgy, chocolate cookie with powdered sugary snowcaps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States