Super Duper Bean Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly except I added a can of black beans (rinsed/drained), shredded carrots & dried cranberries. Also we found everyone liked it better served warm. I used a slotted spoon to remove the salad from the oil mixture after it marinated overnight & put in a clean dish. There was plenty of flavor left on the beans without dripping off the fork..This is a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
This salad is easy to put together. I used red wine vinegar in place of the white vinegar, olive oil in place of vegetable oil and black beans in place of the Lima beans. Next time I will use less sugar as it is a little sweet, otherwise I would have given it 5 stars. My husband loved it just as I prepared it and didn't think that it was to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I loved my grandma's bean salad but no one had her recipe. I found this and tried it. The only change I made was I omitted the lima beans and added black beans. It was fabulous. Great for a summer picnic since it has no mayo to worry about being in the sun. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Quick and easy to make. I like alot of onion so i used a very large vidalia onion. I must say though it was very very sweet. I expected more of a savory flavor. Next time i make it i will cut the sugar in half or maybe do half 2 parts sugar 1 part salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Very easy and healthy. Especially if you rinse the beans first or cook dry ones. People always love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
This salad was incredible! I have shared it multiple times! Thanks for a great summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was so easy and super tasty. I didn't have the proper spices so threw in what I thought would work. Instead of rosemary & basil I used a little thyme and celery seed, along with dill and garlic powder. Also used a red and orange bell paper and much more sweet onion than was called for. I think that any spices you prefer would work, but definitely stick with the prescribed amount of vinegar, oil, and sugar. Be warned this recipe makes a large amount!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
great! made it just as recipes says and i will make it a lot!! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This is EXCELLENT! Don't make any changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Salad II

See how to make a fresh, colorful Mexican-inspired salad and side dish.

Fava and Butter Bean Salad

A flavorful cold bean salad with garlic, lemon, roasted red pepper, and mint.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States