Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
A quick review of the fat and calorie content led me to omit the bacon and substitute 1% milk for the cream with 3 tbsp cornstarch as another reviewer suggested. I also used only 4 medium potatoes which was plenty. I had frozen spinach and used about half of a 10 oz package
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommafourtimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Absolutely delicious! This is my fiancée's favorite soup from the O.G & he loves that it tastes JUST like it. I did feel like 6 potatoes would be too much so I used 4 instead, cut them thicker, & did not cook them all the way in the chicken broth but instead let them finish cooking during the heating process of the heavy whipping cream and sausage so that they wouldn't crumble at the end. I used Kale (instead of spinach) and also added it at the time of heating everything through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I prepared a large pot of this soup for my Sunday school class of about12 people and it was a hit. There wasn't any leftovers of this soup. I opted to use Kale instead of spinach and I used Jimmy Dean HOT sausage instead of mild bulk and crushed red pepper flakes and it came out wonderful. My favorite soup and my Sunday School Class favorite too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Read many reviews and made adaptations of using kale, adding celery, carrot strips and mushrooms, even half & half. I also tried tip of using balsamic vinegar and vanilla for flavor. It's not bad...just ok. I'm curious about honey's vote after tasting, and believe that it'll likely be better tomorrow and in the next few days after sitting. Certainly not a total waste of time...just not as tasty and flavorful as I hoped it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Denise
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This soup is so good I'm going to make another batch to freeze because there won't be any left! The recipe is very easy to follow and I didn't have to make any additions with the seasoning. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Delicious! I made this recipe for an office "potluck". I did make 2 minor changes. I used kale instead of spinach and cooked the bacon, but did not include it in the soup. I just used the drippings for cooking the onion and garlic. I got so many compliments. Everyone who tried it, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kobe Bambino

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
This is a truly delicious soup just the way it is written! I wanted to make it even more hearty and filling for a very cold November night here in Georgia (Polar Vortex)!! I made the base recipe and then added carrots, orzo, and a can of creamed corn. I added a cup of skim milk and a cup of fat free half and half with a slurry of cornstarch to thicken into more of a chowder. Thanks for sharing your great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
There are never any leftovers when I make this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jannette DeJoya Velasco
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Easy recipe!!! I substituted kale for spinach and low fat milk for the heavy cream. I added mini shell pastas while boiling the potatoes. It's always a hit with my husband and kids so I keep it in rotation. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Super easy and even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisnaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States