Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Halved the recipe, subbed 4c beef broth with 2c water (Hey, I was short. ;D) Instead of fresh, I added 8oz frozen chopped spinach. That's more than the recipe states, I would think. Before the cream, it tasted a little too sausage-y. After the cream, mellowed nicely. If I make again, I'll add less meat anyway - so I can make three sausage dishes from one pound instead of two. (I also made this ... http://allrecipes.com/recipe/penne-with-spicy-vodka-tomato-cream-sauce/detail.aspx ... which I rated five stars. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
So. Good. We've tried a few Zuppa Toscana recipes before, but nothing ever tasted good enough to warrant making again. This recipe has become a new favorite. The only things I alter are the amount of potatoes, (recipe calls for 6 but we use 8 or 9 small gold potatoes, sliced very thin) and I use kale instead of spinach. If you like really spicy soup, hot italian sausage gives it more kick. It's also amazing reheated. We serve it with sour dough bread & salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
After reading reviews, I changed up the recipe. I took the advice of other reviews and added fennel and kale. I diced the potatoes and boiled them in the broth ect. for 35mins. I used my immersion blender to purée the potatoes to make a thick soup. I added the sausage and kale and simmered the soup for an hour. I was happy with the results, a nice thick and hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
This is the best soup ever! Today I added a can of Ro-Tel tomatoes and it was delicious. I did not add the crushed peppers, the tomatoes added enough kick to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Turned out really good! I also tweaked the recipe a bit. I browned the italian sausage with the red pepper flakes, then added the chopped onion and minced garlic. Next I removed the sausage and onion mixture and then browned six pieces of bacon in the same skillet that I browned the sausage in. I drained bacon on paper towel and then crumbled. I added crumbled bacon with about 56 oz chicken broth ( I used about 1 and 3/4 of 32 oz chicken broth cartons). Brought to a boil then added 3 large thinly sliced russet potatoes. Took about 15 minutes until potatoes were tender. Then added baby kale instead of spinach. Once kale was wilted, I stirred in sausage mixture and about 1 cup cream. Tasted and added a few pinches of salt, and more crushed red pepper. Soup was tasty but still missing something. Added about 2 tablespoons of butter to soup which added the "rich" flavor that I felt was missing. Tasted perfect. Only missing breadsticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Euphoric Monkey
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
Great recipe I added a teaspoon of fennel with it to give it a bit of a kick. Over all it came out wonderful especially for my first time making Zuppa. The whole family loved it. Definitely making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
In my opinion, this soup taste exactly like what's served at Olive Garden; in my boyfriend's opinion, it's better. Either way, great. I used gold potatoes instead of russets, which held their form better. Added 1 tsp each of sweet basil and fennel and used more bacon (maybe 6 or 7 slices), as well as 1 1/2 c of heavy cream. I also used a few extra tsp of chicken bouillon, and still thought it needed salt and pepper, but that was an easy fix to a great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nyequita Destiny Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
AMAZING! I get high compliments ever time I make this. I follow the recipe exact and turns out perfect every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nichellekay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by datachick1213
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This is the soup I Order When I go to my local Italian chain restaurant. So delicious! I use kale instead of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Restaurant-Style Zuppa Toscana

See how to make a healthy Tuscan-style soup.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States