Super Bowl Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
The way I originally submitted this recipe was not on frozen rolls! I don't know how it was changed. I always use the Pepperidge farm dinner rolls in the foil pans. This recipe will fill 2 of those trays. They taste just like the popular miniature burgers! Everybody kept asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Great and simple recipe!! I used about 3/4 of the onion soup mix as recommended by others and they turned out great! I used brown and serve rolls that I had baked previously according to the directions. I then used 2 9x13 pans to put the bites into with the meat packed into them. The key is to make sure that the foil covering the bites is good and tight otherwise the bites can come out hard instead of soft and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
I am not sure why these are called Super Bowl Bites, but my family likes them no matter what they are called. I made the whole recipe a few weeks ago, and froze half for a later date. What a nice surprise when I made the frozen ones last night. This recipe reads like it should just be a simple recipe, certainly not something an 'experienced' cook would think should be gourmet. I would make these again easliy and know that my family will enjoy them. Thanks Kathy W.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
wouldnt you cook the burgers first before putting them on the bun according to the recipe you cook the burgers on the bun wouldnt they get soggey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
To solve any bun problems-flatten meat out onto a cutting board, and use pizza cutter to cut into squares. Bake on cookie sheet covered in foil. Heat premade dinner rolls (e.g. Sara Lee) in microwave for 45 seconds. Buns will be soft but not soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
I enjoyed these and they were very easy to make. I used both Hawaiian Sweet Rolls and Hawaiian Honey Wheat - the store I went to didn't have Savory Butter flavor as another poster mentioned. The sweetness was a little overbearing, but I could taste the concept of the recipe and will definitely be making it again with a different roll. That being said, I followed the recipe to the letter with one addition, I placed the pan of "bites" inside another pan that had about a 1/2-inch water in it. The steam would prevent the rolls from getting hard on both the top and bottom. The smell of this dish was definitely that of WC, the taste was close - close enough, everyone enjoyed them. I didn't have a problem with the cook time as others did, the meat was done in 30 minutes just as stated in the recipe and it wasn't soggy or unevenly cooked. I still have some of the mix left, I just have to run to the store and get some more rolls. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks Kathy W for posting it. TIP: If your rolls are buring, check the location of your oven rack, it may be too close to the top or bottom of the oven, it s/b in the center. Also if the meat is not done in the time recommended, the patty may be too thick, these should be thin burgers, just like the restaurant. UPDATE: I tried the recipe using Hawaiian Savory Rolls WITHOUT the water bath and the rolls were kinda crunchy/toasted, I prefer the softer bun using the water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Whatever you do, do NOT use whole wheat rolls to make these. I did and it was horrible. The wheat taste was overpowering after baking and we had to throw them away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
We loved this recipe!! I doubled the filling for 24 rolls, didn't seem like 1 pound of ground beef would be enough. Perhaps the rolls I found were a little larger? I scooped the meat on to the rolls with a small icecream/cookie scoop, and it worked out perfectly for 24. Cooked them for closer to 45-50 minutes since there was more meat. Yum! Can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
White Castle has nothing on these little morsels! My husband could not get enough! Made them twice, the first time I followed directions but the second time I found it easier to bake the frozen rolls per the package directions then slice them, add the meat mixture, top with processed cheese slices and serve. Man are these good! Must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDHEAD_T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
We used to make something similar to this and lost the recipe. I am so happy that we found it again, and this one may even be better. We mad these for Thanksgiving, while we watched football. Everyone loved them and gobbled them up in a flash. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States