Super Bowl Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The kids thought it was okay. Husband saw me putting raw meat on buns, then putting it in the oven and would not eat it. It does not match the burger king mini burgers like I had hopes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beausoleil First Nation, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This was a fun idea for a week night meal for our family. I used Sara Lee dinner rolls and ground round. We weren't crazy about the sogginess of the buns from the grease of the meat and may cook meat first next time. Used another reviewers idea for placing damp paper towel over buns to keep them for getting overly dry on their tops. This worked great. Overall fun idea for a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
These were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Taste is right on with these, but I didn't have the courage to spread the meat mixture directly onto the buns in a raw state (I have a 3 yr old.) I precooked it for like ten minutes beforehand. Here's the secret White Castle addition I added - mix a small bottle of strained Veal Baby Food into the meat mixture -- yup, believe it or not! The buns are important in this recipe too - I think the best option is cheap store brand hot dog buns cut into thirds, personally. I got some nice mini kaisers from the bakery but they were just too bready and not authentic. Great recipe idea though - thank you for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bferris19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA
Living In: Kirklyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
They turned out a little soggy for me, but I think I did something wrong. Will definatly try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
My hubby and kids love these little burgers. I do use the wet paper towel on top that other reviews suggested and using a 9x13 pan to pat out the meat and cut into even squares is great. I usually use ground turkey and 1/2 pack of of the soup mix, but do add some of my homemade bbq sauce or A1 to the mix. these reheat great in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Followed the recipe to the T. My husband was in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Love the idea, but not crazy about the flavor of the burger. Have never been to White Castle, maybe they are supposed to taste this way. The recipe though did work great--used a very lean beef so no greasy buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I used the whole pack of seasoning and it was not too strong at all. I actually thought they could have used more salt. I bought 2 packs of Sarah Lee dinner rolls, they came in packs of 12 rolls. The rolls are all attached together so I split them into bunches of 6 rolls stuck together. I sliced the tops off each bunch of 6 rolls and put the bottom parts into the baking dish. I divided the meat up into 4 parts and plopped it down on each section of rolls. Then I spread the meat out so it covered all the bottoms. Topped them, covered with foil and cooked 35 minutes. They came apart easy because the rolls were already divided I just had to pull them apart a little. The bread was soft, not soggy and the meat was perfectly cooked. The way I made them was quick and easy with no mess. The kids loved these mini burgers with chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I really like this recipe. I did not mind the rolls being a little "crispy" on top. We added more mayo after they were done. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SWILSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s 2014 Super Bowl Prediction

Will Chef John’s magic chicken bones reveal the winner yet again?

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States