Super Bowl Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Followed the recipe exactly, but added a water bath below pan. Some reviews suggested adding a moist paper towel on top of rolls before baking. I will do this next time, as the tops of the buns were kind of crispy. Overall, a delicious recipe that was simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I lived in Brooklyn years ago, just down the street from a White Castle. I never understood the appeal of their steamed sliders, I always thought they were slimy & gross. So I hesitated when I saw others comparing this recipe to the white castle version. I just made this yesterday (for the Super Bowl, yes!) and luckily it turned out delicious. The flavor is definitely very onion-y. I happen to love that, but I would cut back a bit on the soup mix if you don't love onion. As suggested in the recipe, I cooked this in the pan that the mini rolls came with. I used a pound of beef for only 12 buns so my burgers came out thicker, and I had to cook them longer. The buns were perfectly crispy yet soft inside. I added a lot more cheese. The texture of the meat ends up soft - a lot like meatloaf, so it can be hard to tell when it's cooked all the way through. This was a big hit with my husband. A genius way to cook mini burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These are delicious and not at all soggy. I placed a damp paper towel on the top buns before wrapping in silver foil as another person suggested. The bottom buns were actually crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Closest recipe I've found to white castle, big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
The only rolls I could find in the store were the aunt millies. They are about double the size so there are only 12. The flavor was great, just like those famous mini burgers. I put a water bath in the oven to try to prevent the rolls from getting to done, but they still were a little hard. I think next time I will cook for a few minutes less as the meat was plenty done enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Fantastic. My sister made these for our group and everyone loved them. So easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
yummy!!! I couldn't find the frozen rolls so I used the brown and serve rolls. SO YUMMY and cute!! I can't wait to make again ~ very easy to make!! A big hit for football sunday!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Yum o! These little burgers taste just like White Castle sliders. Great recipe. I made the recipe exactly as written and it came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
These are very good, although they do of course turn out extremely greasy...delicious though, and I was able to save them for a few days afterward in the fridge for lunches and snacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very good! I also cooked the meat first on a 9x13 pan, because speading raw meat on buns sounded kind of gross. But the flavor of these was so good! I followed other reviewers and used hot dog buns cut in thirds (that way I didn't even have to go to the store, I had everything on hand) It wasn't too much onion soup mix for us, but I did have about 1 1/2 pounds of meat. Great recipe, so easy and delicious, I will make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metuchen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Bacon Jalapeno Pepper Chicken Bites

A deliciously spicy, filling appetizer or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States