Super Bowl Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I Read several reviews before making these and used a combination of tips. First rolled out beef mixture and baked on foil lined cookie sheet for 15 minutes. Next, I cut them in squares with a pizza cutter and placed on rolls. I used Hawaiian king rolls. Some thought these were to sweet but we liked them. I used a glass baking pan and covered them tightly with aluminum foil. Baked for additional 15 minutes. I have made them twice now and everyone loved them. They are not "gourmet", as some reviews criticized but are easy and tasty. Kids and husband loved them. You can also use a leaner beef and less cheese to make them a little less fattening. Also, I used about 1.5 lbs of beef, a full packet of soup mix, and about 6 ounces of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I really liked these. I'd maybe try a little less dry onion soup mix. Tasted a little over powering with the whole packet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
My husband really liked these, me not so much, but I think thats just due to personal tastes. I flattened burger mix onto a small cookie sheet and baked at 350 for 15-20 minutes. Then I cut the meat into square pieces to fit inside the buns. I used Sara Lee dinner rolls for the bread and baked the sadwiches for a few minutes in the buns. Pretty easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Made these for Super Bowl party yesterday - they were a hit! Used 93% lean ground beef, they were not greasy at all. I did add more meat (about another 1/2 lb) to the one packet of soup mix and threw in some more cheese. I agree that one pkg for just 1 lb of meat would be too much. Used King Hawaiian rolls. Placed them in a low-sided pan so that there was no air space above the rolls, wrapped the foil tightly and they stayed nice and soft. Had the left overs for dinner tonight, heated in the micro wave they were still soft and yummy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
It was delicious even though I cooked them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Turned out way better than I expected, the bottom of the roll wasnt greasy at all. I used Hawaiian rolls, and I wont do that next time, as it made them too sweet. Everyone loved them still, and this is such a different recipe than Im used to, with the raw meat going on the rolls like that. Im very pleasantly surprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestline, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Made these the other night using the recipe on here for dry onion soup mix in place of the packaged stuff. The flavor was good and buns were soft but the meat was hard and dry. Don't know why as I followed the recipe exactly. Maybe my oven was hotter? I may try again but not sure what to do differently to keep the meat from getting dried out as I want to be sure it's cooked thru too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
These are simple to make, easy on the budget, and a big hit with the everyone. What more can you ask for? I couldn’t find the buns listed in the recipe so I used regular hamburger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Peru, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
These are wonderful! I used one package of Hawaiian Rolls (12), ground chuck, 2% cheddar cheese, light mayo, and the dry soup mix. I put 1/2 the recipe on one package of rolls, just as the recipe says to do. No soggy bottoms at all. I was a little concerned that they would be too oniony, but they weren't. Definitely a keeper! *** The next day, I wrapped one in a paper towel and warmed it up in the microwave. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I follwed the recipe. I did based on other reviews place a pan of water on the rack under the bites while they were baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Spaghetti and Meatballs Muffin Bites

Individual, party-ready spaghetti and meatballs bites.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States