Super BLT Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I cut the servings back to make just one sandwich. Because I did not have any actual cream cheese at the moment, I used Laughing Cow cheese in it's place. Because i'm eating low carb, I used one side of a Bagel Thin (sandwich slices). The ingredients for one sandwich fit really nicely on one slice of bagel--I was quite surprized. This was quite good. I'll make this again. Very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is one "Super" BLT! And to say that is really saying something because I've had a lot of them in my lifetime! Combining bacon, lettuce and tomato is just as classic a combination as peanut butter and jelly in my book. But, this combination of flavors and textures takes this classic to a whole new level! It's creamy and crunchy! I used thick cut smoked bacon, crisp iceburg lettuce, tomatoes seasoned with cracked black pepper, Philly whipped cream cheese, and "Guacamole" by Bob Cody from this site. I put it all on thick slices of toast. If you try this one, prepare your tastebuds for a treat. What a sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I travel a lot and sometimes some of the best recipes I've come across here on AR have been when I'm heading out again and I do a simple ingredient search for recipes that are quick, easy and to use up things I have in the fridge. This was a BLT sandwich LUXE! Over the top good, and quite pretty too. I used homemade Italian bread and, I confess, considerably more of ALL the ingredients than the submitter directed for each sandwich - like probably double. If you aren't as lucky as I was to happen to have leftover guacamole laying around I'm sure that avocado slices would be great too, although the guacamole provides incredible flavor. The bacon is a "gimme" in my book as I think no matter what you use it for it makes it taste better! Combine that bacon with good bread, the creaminess of the cream cheese, more creaminess and flavor from the guacamole, the crunchiness of the lettuce and the juiciness of a red-ripe tomato and you've got yourself one outstanding sandwich. I could easily see this as a wrap too, either using tortillas or simply large lettuce leaves. So glad for the leftovers and search that led me to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This was soooooo good! I wasn't sure if I should do the cream cheese too, but it really added to it- I'm glad I did. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
wow killer sandwich. i made my own guacamole and used garlic and chive cream cheese since its what i had. i made this for my husband who prefers a club sandwich to a plain old blt but i was out of turkey. this would be a great pub dinner night sandwich served with fries. ill make it for him again. dont skip the cream cheese it really adds something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Very good. I toast those sandwich thins instead of bread, cook bacon in the oven for ease, and sometimes mix in garden/veggie cream cheese for more flavor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
You can't taste the cream cheese and the guacamole is too overpowering. STICK TO: MAYO BACON LETTUCE TOMATO on second thought how would sliced banana be on that too....?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this for my husband last night and he LOVED it! He said it was the best BLT he has ever had! I used pretty thickly sliced pepper bacon and it was perfect! Thank you for this recipe! I'm keepin it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I have been making this sandwich for a while now. Love it on pumpernickle or any good bread. I had been making a mixture of mayo and mustard (love mustard) but will now use the cream cheese (or laughing cow lite). It is the guacamole or fresh avacado that makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
What a neat way to dress up an old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Super Delicious Zuppa Toscana

A rich soup made with sausage, potatoes, fresh spinach, and cream.

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing, this salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States