Super Al's Cocktail Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Cut recipe in half and it was excellent. Bought more shrimp today so I can make it again. I did add celery seed/celery (personal preference) The recipe is excellent as written. I also will be NOT be buying store bought cocktail sauce again, this was so easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I didn't go by the exact amount of the ingredients. Used same ingredients. Prepare to suit your taste. My husband and I agree, this is the best tasting seafood sauce we've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ColleenK
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I also used creamy horseradish sauce. I will try it with the raw when I'm able to get some. This is VERY good! No need to buy premade cocktail sauce again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Delicious as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I love cocktail sauce and make this without the brown sugar. It is still delicious. I put it on tilapia too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eggguru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Marana, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I wanted to have a little cocktail sauce with some shrimp I had, but there was no sauce on hand. I remember making this before and loved it. It is so easy, and I would say even BETTER than any bottled stuff. I joined AR about a month ago, and remember this as one of the best recipes I've come across over the past few years. Thanks Al...it is super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is good as is, but I like mine more spicy so I added 2 more tablespoons of tomato ketchup (1/2 cup total) and a teaspoon of Texas Pete. That made just it right for me. Next time I am going to try a teaspoon of red wine or cider vinegar. Thanks for giving me a base to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is a good recipe,but we've always made our own sauce and we also add about 2 to 3 tsp Worcestershire sauce and chili sauce for extra kick. Don't think we have ever bought prepared cocktail sauce. Such an easy thing to make. Don't know why people waste money paying for it when you usually always have these items on hand anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ncgeezer

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I loved this cocktail sauce, but I go about making sauce with horseradish a little differently. When I read this recipe, I KNEW I would need to use "The Method". Remember the old adage, "you can always add, but you can't always remove". So when making this the first time, I grated the full amount of horseradish the recipe called for. I assembled the remaining ingredients in a bowl, THEN I began adding the horseradish, a small amount at a time, (knowing my family & friends, I started at 1/2 Tablespoon). I then chilled this for at least 15 minutes (because the flavors need to meld. After at least 15 minutes, We test with a cold shrimp. Then, if it's not enough, I add another 1/2 Tablespoon. Again, in to meld & again test. Continue as needed. Keep in mind, this is a one time only process (much to my family's dismay)! After this I make a permanent adjustment in my recipe book. This beats having to throw an overly spicy item away, & starting over or a late run to the market. I do this with a lot of recipes for sauces, as well as adjusting salt, pepper, sauces, gravies etc., for recipes I'm making for the first time. The melding process isn't always necessary, but tasting with a clean utensil, or in this case a cold shrimp. For us, 1 Tablespoon was sufficient, but we tend to go with the younger children's spice level. When at a party, I use this, & make a spicier version (1 & 1/2 Tablespoon) for those "Non-Gringo's", level, such as myself . HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States