Sunshine Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I've never had these before, and I'm sooo glad that I found this because my son now thinks I'm the Bee's Knees for making these this morning. Not only are these completely easy, but cute as well. Robert commented on how "he loved how the egg cooked a little into the toast". I too carefully flipped them for over easy. Thanks for opening my eyes Cassie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
LOVE this recipe. Used to have these as a kid, mom called them "egg in a nest". You must fry up the hole of bread in butter also and eat with the rest. Also great if you crumble up bacon or sausage and est with too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLOTT
Living In: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These are great!! I learned to make these way back in 7th grade Home Ec., but were called "picture frame eggs".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kewanee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
These were great Cassie. My boys will not eat the white of the egg and they actually ate the whole thing when made this way. I flipped over the egg because that is how they prefer them. Thanks for the great new way to cook an egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2004
we love these. We call them egg in a hole! Sometimes if we have crumbled bacon or sausage we put some in the hole after the egg and flip it. Sometimes we add cheese and flip it and if is great! It gets crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I've been making this since my friend made it for me when i was 11 years old. I made it for my son, and he just thought it was the greatest thing. :) If you like eggs and toast, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I've been making these forever. We call them "egg in a hole." But we cut the hole, drop in the egg, cook that side, then flip over and lightly fry on the other side, so egg is cooked on both sides (sunny-side up!). The yolk stays soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is a great way to fix eggs especially for kids and it's even better using a slice of banana-nut bread. Do flip it for over-easy just to ensure the white is cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
My daughter has been making these for a while. Very quick and clever. Kids think they have accomplished something great when making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
My mom made this for us when we were kids. She called it "Toad in a Hole." Sunshine Toast sounds better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States