Sunshine Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
My dad used to make these for me when I was little. Butter is good, but bacon grease is better. After frying bacon, drain off all but enough grease to coat the pan. Then put the bread in the pan and add the egg. I like hard egg yolks, so I break the yolk right after adding it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
My mother used to make this for me for breakfast when I was younger. She called it "Egg in a Frame", and I dipped the excess bread slices into the yolk. I no longer like eggs at all, but I have to give this recipe ***** because it reminds me so much of my childhood, a.k.a. "The Good Old Days". :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This was a great idea. It was incredibly easy, and I would highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
This is one of my favorite ways of eating eggs. Once the white is set on the bottom, I like to flip the toast for about thirty seconds to make my egg over easy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
My mom made this for us when I was little and I've made it for my family that are now grown! We called it "egg on an island". The only thing we do different is to put the egg in right away once the bread is in the fry pan. Also save and fry up with the egg the little circle of bread that you cut out. I do try to break up the whites of the egg a little befoe flipping, so that it cooks evenly. Enjoyable and fun to eat. Thanks Cassie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I've never had these before, and I'm sooo glad that I found this because my son now thinks I'm the Bee's Knees for making these this morning. Not only are these completely easy, but cute as well. Robert commented on how "he loved how the egg cooked a little into the toast". I too carefully flipped them for over easy. Thanks for opening my eyes Cassie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
I've been making this since my friend made it for me when i was 11 years old. I made it for my son, and he just thought it was the greatest thing. :) If you like eggs and toast, you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
These were great Cassie. My boys will not eat the white of the egg and they actually ate the whole thing when made this way. I flipped over the egg because that is how they prefer them. Thanks for the great new way to cook an egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
I've been making these forever. We call them "egg in a hole." But we cut the hole, drop in the egg, cook that side, then flip over and lightly fry on the other side, so egg is cooked on both sides (sunny-side up!). The yolk stays soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This is a great way to fix eggs especially for kids and it's even better using a slice of banana-nut bread. Do flip it for over-easy just to ensure the white is cooked properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States