Sunshine Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Boy years ago camping in PA we gathered up slate pieces and started an early morning fire. Slate in the coals till hot. Clean and grease slate with a piece of bacon.have to throw that away. People from all over that state park were bringing me their eggs bread and bacon till well after lunch. Flipped the egg and bread once. Could get 2-3 before the slate had to go back in the coals for awhile. But we bad several pieces going. We started the fire the next morning sunday at 5:30 am. I was 12 years old. I Gadsden it on a tv shoe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
The kida love this. I also often put a poached egg instead. It's a little healthier and a little easier for volume cooking since I can poach six+ eggs while toasting the bread in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Although I know this dish as "Egg in a Hole," it's a terrific breakfast staple. So long as you have the time and patience to make it, that is... It's tricky choreographing enough for a whole family while keeping the yolks runny (and the yolks must be runny!) Oh, and the "holes"--buttered and cooked alongside the eggs--are the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
My mother used to always make this for us, but we called it "Rocky Mountain Toast" ... Not sure why. It is delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir_Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
wow my grandma used to make it for us we called it chicken in a basket or egg in a basket i still make it for my kids today
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
this is a fantastic quick breakfast, been having it ever since...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
We love these! So much fun! We also make these with a tortilla instead of the bread! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YARI5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
We called it "Bunny in a hole" when I was little and my Grandmother made this for us. It was one of my most favorite and fun breakfasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
My family used to call this "Hole in One" as we are avid golfers and was fast to make before a round of golf. I love this recipe on a Sunday morning with homemade hashbrowns and bacon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcdh13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
My gma has been making these since me and my sister were little girls..." Egg in the Basket" is what we called them..and now I make them for my girls! They love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States