Sunshine Morning Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I did not have oat bran on hand, I used wheat germ in it's place. I also folded in three packets of Truvia with the other ingredients and used pecans instead of walnuts. This is tasty though it seems to me like it's missing something. I think other reviewers might be on to something about using a little orange juice instead of milk. EDITED: I made this a second time and used orange juice instead of milk. That was exactly what it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I forgot to write that you should also add about 1 T or orange juice to the muesli. It tastes excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
i had high hopes for this recipe because the reviews were so good but my husband and I could not eat it. My husband said it was like eating a lemon. I really like the idea but it was way to tart. If I ever get brave enough to try this again I will use vanilla yogurt instead of plain and drizzle with honey like the other reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I love this recipe for breakfast. I've been making it everyday for a week and a half. I originally ate the Swiss Oatmeal at Corner Bakery and wanted to see if I could make it at home. Corner Bakery's Swiss Oatmeal is fabulous!! This isn't AS good but is comparable and very healthy. The recipe is good as-is. I only change it up when I have fresh fruit in the house. Sometimes I chop up a peach, 1/2 banana, strawberries or blueberries versus the dry fruit. This recipe keeps me full well into the afternoon. Highly recommended for a healthy, fulfilling breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
This is the best quick breakfast around! I've been making this same type of recipe for several years now, and heartily recommend everyone should try it. The only difference between mine and this recipe is that I use dried blueberries and apricots, and slivered almonds, and I don't usually add milk. (I like it thick, but that's just me.) It's perfect for weekdays, since you make it the night before, and it's ready to go the next morning. Everyone in my family loves it, and it's sooo healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Very good idea of soaking oats in yogurt instead of milk. I used strawberry-flavored yogurt and added dried blueberries and assorted nuts. Healthy and yummy. Thanks =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really good. I was expecting to have to add sweetener but none was needed. Very creamy and filling. I added in dried blueberries and apples rather than the raisins and apricots. The fruit really adds a lot of flavor and sweetness. I also used home made 2% yogurt and 1% milk but the preparation method makes this creamy enough that it had a whole milk quality to it. I will make this often, especially since it's so convenient and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
3.5 stars, without changes. Five stars for health, without changes. :) I added the orange juice like the recipe submitter suggested, but it didn't take away the tang of the yogurt, so I added about 2 tsp. honey and it is perfect. As another reviewer suggested, vanilla yogurt would work well, but to keep the sugar content down a little, I would use half vanilla yogurt and half plain yogurt. This recipe works really well with any fruit, dried or fresh. I put peaches in it and left out the walnuts due to an allergy. Thank you for a quick and healthy breakfast! (one more *little* :) change I made: fat free yogurt. I couldn't tell a difference, it was so creamy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! This was my first time trying muesli, and I am impressed. Tomorrow morning will be the fourth morning in a row I have muesli. I altered the recipe based on the grains, nuts, and fruit I have on hand. This is truly spectacular. I love the yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My rating is for the recipe as written, because it's a sound recipe that produces good results, but as a muesli lover, this recipe and I have some differences. The oats lend a milky richness to the liquid in which they're soaked; using milk actually makes this too rich for my tastes, and that's even before adding the yogurt. I go the traditional route instead: soak the oats and nuts (almonds for me, no cinnamon) in orange juice - even using water with a tablespoon of honey is delicious - and serve with fresh fruit and a dollop of yogurt. Dried fruit certainly adds to the convenience factor, but using fresh fruit instead REALLY makes this something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States