Sunshine Morning Muesli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
one of my favorite breakfasts. I mix up several containers of the dry ingredients and then just add the yogurt the night before. Great breakfast when I'm in a hurry. I also had 1/4 C ground flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
We make this ALL the time. Any dried fruit works well, and it's good with or without the milk. So great to have breakfast already made when you get up in the morning. I also throw in a spoon of oat bran, wheat bran, and wheat germ, and sometimes sweeten with a bit of honey. Great recipe; thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
As others have already stated, you can add whatever combination of fruits, or nuts or both. I use vanilla yogurt as I don't care for the plain but regardless, you can play with this to make it truly yours. Thank you Linda for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I did not have oat bran on hand, I used wheat germ in it's place. I also folded in three packets of Truvia with the other ingredients and used pecans instead of walnuts. This is tasty though it seems to me like it's missing something. I think other reviewers might be on to something about using a little orange juice instead of milk. EDITED: I made this a second time and used orange juice instead of milk. That was exactly what it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
If you use Greek yogurt like I did, you may need to use a bit more than the recipe calls for as it is pastier than regular yogurt. My batch was REALLY thick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
My rating is for the recipe as written, because it's a sound recipe that produces good results, but as a muesli lover, this recipe and I have some differences. The oats lend a milky richness to the liquid in which they're soaked; using milk actually makes this too rich for my tastes, and that's even before adding the yogurt. I go the traditional route instead: soak the oats and nuts (almonds for me, no cinnamon) in orange juice - even using water with a tablespoon of honey is delicious - and serve with fresh fruit and a dollop of yogurt. Dried fruit certainly adds to the convenience factor, but using fresh fruit instead REALLY makes this something special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I have been looking for ways to take my protein powder, and got stuck putting it in oatmeal every morning. I added some to this recipe and am very impressed! I've never tried muesli, but will put it into my breakfast rotation for sure. This recipe was surprisingly sweet enough as is. I think another dash of cinnamon in the morning couldn't hurt, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
3.5 stars, without changes. Five stars for health, without changes. :) I added the orange juice like the recipe submitter suggested, but it didn't take away the tang of the yogurt, so I added about 2 tsp. honey and it is perfect. As another reviewer suggested, vanilla yogurt would work well, but to keep the sugar content down a little, I would use half vanilla yogurt and half plain yogurt. This recipe works really well with any fruit, dried or fresh. I put peaches in it and left out the walnuts due to an allergy. Thank you for a quick and healthy breakfast! (one more *little* :) change I made: fat free yogurt. I couldn't tell a difference, it was so creamy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Really good. I was expecting to have to add sweetener but none was needed. Very creamy and filling. I added in dried blueberries and apples rather than the raisins and apricots. The fruit really adds a lot of flavor and sweetness. I also used home made 2% yogurt and 1% milk but the preparation method makes this creamy enough that it had a whole milk quality to it. I will make this often, especially since it's so convenient and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Yum, yum, yum! This was my first time trying muesli, and I am impressed. Tomorrow morning will be the fourth morning in a row I have muesli. I altered the recipe based on the grains, nuts, and fruit I have on hand. This is truly spectacular. I love the yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Sunday Morning Chilaquiles

See how to make easy, cheesy breakfast chilaquiles.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States