Sunshine Juice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Because I don't have a juice machine, I added a little orange juice to get the ingredients moving in my blender. I skipped the mint because the kids don't like it. We all enjoyed this. EDITED: I make this often during the summer and add a spoonful or two of nonfat greek yogurt and a little vanilla extract which makes it creamy and delicious--very similar to an Orange Julius but with half the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
Sunshine Juice is now my NEW favorite beverage... with just a few minor adaptions... 1 small ice cream scoop (3 Tbsp) OJ concentrate, 1 cup frozen raspberries, 1 ripe banana, 1 cup water added to a blender. (WISH I had some mint, which IS opt.). Blend until smooth to make 2 cups beautiful RICH pink bliss. Loved it!!! Sharon Anne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Sunshine Juice - what a great name. The sound of title brings happiness to my morning. I don't have a juicer, so I put everything in my Magic Bullet (R) to blend. I started with the oranges so that they would create the juice needed for the other ingredients. Added red raspberries and frozen banana. A delicious breakfast smoothie that contains a day's worth of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Wonderful and refreshing! I added an additional approx. cup of chopped ice and water mix to smooth it out more. I also used frozen banana and berries (that's how I store them for smoothies). Love the fact too that I am getting my daily required serving of fruit and good nutrition from this wholesome blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was amazing! I love the addition of mint, it gave a nice refreshing flavor to an already energizing smoothie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
My Nutri-bullet is the best for making these drinks!! Highly recommend one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Seminole, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I've been making almost this exact drink for over a quarter century to have with a plain bagel or toast for most breakfasts during the week!! What I do differently is use a blender with 6 to 8 oz orange juice (3 to 4 oranges), 1 cup of raspberries, 1 banana and instead of using mint I add a couple of heaping tablespoons of vanilla flavored protein powder for the flavor twist and the extra nutrition it bestows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richland, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I have a juicer, but put this in a blender instead. 1) Bananas don't juice, and 2) raspberries get mostly shot into the disposal container on mine... Anyway, I had thought I had raspberries, but didn't so I used strawberries instead. Very good drink! I basically had it for lunch. The second time I made it (the next day!) I added a container of Greek strawberry yougurt too. Oh, and I had some pineapple juice on hand, so I used that to get the blender going instead of water or milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Great recipe. Been making this type drink in my magic bullet for years. If I need to make a larger one, I use my nutri-bullet. I keep a bag of frozen wild blueberries and pineapple chunks in my freezer all the time. I also freeze bananas that are starting to be overripe. I leave out the mint due to personal preference. No need to pour over ice. The more frozen fruits you use, the thicker it will become. I use the same ingredients as the recipe, minus the mint. In my magic bullet My favorite is to use - one orange, a banana, berries, couple chunks of pineapple, and Activia if I'm in the mood. It is such a versatile recipe. I just keep putting fruit in until it is full. One orange makes enough liquid for it. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
First, I need to make a distinction between smoothies and juice. When you 'juice', you get a very rapid and easily digestible 'shot' of vitamins and minerals more quickly into your system because the fiber in fruit and veggies doesn't have to be digested (which takes much longer to travel through your system and get into your bloodstream.) That said, whether juicing or making a smoothie this is an excellent recipe but experiment with any and all fruits and veggies. Try 'juicing' kale, apples and a lemon for a super energy boost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Zesty Lemon Apple Juice

A light and refreshing juice with lemons, apples, and cucumber.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States