Sunshine Hummus Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This sandwich is great and extremely easy. I used homemade humus and a heavy whole grain bread. It's perfect for those nights when you don't have enough time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
We thought these were a really tasty, filling meal! Thanks for posting this recipe, we will be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
New favorite sandwich!! These are great. I made them on toasted pumpernickel bread. I don't think I'd try them on a very soft bread. I think the textures would clash and the bread would become soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I was looking for something easy to make on evenings that I have soccer and softball games and this is it. I never would have thought this combination would go well, but it's fabulous! I use shredded Parmesan cheese and it's a great pre- or post-game snack. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Salsera713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallandale, Florida, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I used a hummus with garlic in it, a mild cheddar cheese, and left the peel on the apples. Maybe the sharp cheddar would've given it more taste. The ingredients are all things we like separately so I was expecting a lot more from this recipe. This recipe seems healthy but we just didn't find it to be very tasty. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zamfam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I am making these for my daughters wedding reception. She is decorating with apples, so everything we are eating is apples. I tried these at home and they were wonderful. But here are my changes. I use an Asagio sourdough bread9available at Costco. I also used Gala apples, feta cheese and some sudried tomatoes for color. Then I cut them in 4ths for wonderful appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kalgal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Very tasty and filling. Granny Smith apples are a must in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
A delicious and healthy - and most importantly - EASY meal. They are exceptionally good with gourmet bread and flavored hummus and some fresh herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Since discovering this I've had it at least once every couple of weeks. It is a perfect use for the heel slice of the bread loaf, which I always used to throw away, but little did I realize it was meant for this. I prefer them open-faced, but maybe that's just me. I'm eating one right now.. Mmmm! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I made this recipe because I could not picture how it would of tasted, and also because it received great reviews. I am still undecided on the recipe. I ate my sandwich, but I can't figure out if I like it or not. I'm thinking that next time I'll add more hummus. I think I'll also try pear and bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States