Sunshine Hummus Melts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Cheeky
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I'm so glad I found this recipe. I had all the ingredients on hand and needed an easy dinner for one. I was leery of the apple, so I sliced it very thin for one piece of bread, and didn't put any on the other piece. I'm so sorry I didn't use the apple for both. It added just the right amount of crunch to this sandwich as well as an interesting flavor. I toasted the bread in my toaster oven and then top-browned it rather than use the oven. It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I used whole wheat pita bread instead of multigrain sandwich bread. I only used one apple because my Granny Smith apple was too large and two of them would have overwhelmed the recipe. I diced the apple instead of cutting it. I will definitely make this again. It had an unusual, but good, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
When I took the first bite, I wasn't sure I liked this...I liked each item individually, but not thinking I liked them together! After each successive bite the flavors were growing on me. By the time I ate the entire sandwich, I had decided I liked it and would definitely make this recipe again. I used Honey Crisp apples because that is what I had in the house, next time I'll try to stick to the recipe and use Granny Smith.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
My husband and I really liked these. The kids did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Delicious and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I used the rye bread that I just baked as the base for this. I had Pumpkin Hummus from AR, and layered on the apples and cheddar. The tastes of garlic from the hummus and the apple were strange together, but overall, this was great! I'll be trying this with other flavors of breads, hummuses, apples and cheeses--what a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Surprised. I was looking for new ways to uses the hummus I had. I put on wheat bread and topped with vegan cheddar cheese (non-dairy soy…not quite the same ?)…but was happily surprised by both the texture and good mix of flavors – not to out of the ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I love this combination of flavors! Instead of bread, I use the Thomas' Sahara White Pita Bread and I skip the pre-toasting. Once the cheese is melted and bubbly, I slice it in quarters after and eat it like a little pizza. I think it would make a beautiful and easy-to-eat appetizer this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Interesting flavors. Not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiss the cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I had high hopes but was disappointed. Might try again with a different kind of hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Tuna Melts

See how to make a lighter tuna melt with a pickled pepper kick.

Real Hummus

This bean dip is healthy and delicious--and so easy to make.

Sunshine Juice

See how to make a healthy raspberry, orange, and banana drink in your juicer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States